We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dutch's Daughter is the "happening place."” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutch's Daughter

Dutch's Daughter
Ranked #3 of 390 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $56
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: You come first at Dutch's and it's our mission to maintain the distinction of being your first choice in dining. Whether it's a casual luncheon, romantic dinner for two, that special dinner party, or the ultimate reception, our tradition of quality and excellence is assured. Each day we strive to improve the high excellence already set. All entrees are prepared to your individual order using only the finest quality ingredients and freshest products available. Dutch's Specialties include Seafood, Crab Cakes, Steaks, and Poultry.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dutch's Daughter is the "happening place."”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I suspect that most people in Frederick have dined at Dutch's Daughter at least once, when they were attending a function of some sort. This is the place for dinner banquets, for luncheon meetings, for annual gatherings, and special awards ceremonies. The staff are incredibly good, setting up for one event after another, each with its own requirements and each handled efficiently and with good humor. The food is delicious, served well, and everyone enjoys themselves.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    146
    69
    20
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best in Frederick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Great food...great service..great setting...
When going out to eat, this is usally the first place that comes to mind.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, MD
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have only eaten here a few times, but the food is wonderful and the service is outstanding. It is beautifully decorated and a warm, comfortable place to have a special dinner. While a bit more expensive than we are accustom to, it really is worth it. Oh, and finding it may be a little problem as it is not where you would normally find a restaurant. It is fairly close in to the city, but the route there is a little odd.

I'd like to go back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thepoint1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Best broiiled lump crabcakes ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Located this place via TripAdvisor en route to Annapolis, and were quite pleased with the late night dinner stop. This is an enormous restaurant, with four dining areas on the main floor, four on the second floor (apparently can be combined for parties) and a lower level bar called the Dungeon. We were promplty seated at 9ish without a reservation. The decor is traditional and a little hokey. Some patrons were dressed up and others were quite casual. The staff was extremely helpful, professional and attentive. We had Maryland crab soup, warm honey wheat bread, a lovely caesar salad and a baked sweet potato. However the star of the show is the broiled lump crabcakes - no fillers. Truly exceptional! We will find our way back to Dutch's Daughter for these!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peregrinegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best of Frederick in this Castle with a restauart inside.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Truly an architectural piece of work and top notch food to go match.

Crab soup was almost a meal in itself. Steak was great. Deserts choices topped it off

Overall would say portions are generous and well prepared. Will go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TripKenSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dutch's Daughter also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
 

Been to Dutch's Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing