We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Always a good pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Forno Pizzeria

Il Forno Pizzeria
Ranked #35 of 385 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Il Forno has never disappointed us with their pizza. The pizza is cooked in a wood fired oven and the toppings are always fresh. The hardest part is deciding what to get on the pizza. Our last visit I wanted something "healthy", so I got the plain cheese topped with fresh spinach. They are generous with the cheese (lots of cheesy goodness) and the crust is always tasty. You never get a cardboard tasting crust here. Good selection of beers and a popular place for post softball game celebrations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fellinimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    40
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
122 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Pizza In Frederick!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I've eaten a lot of pizza but the pizza at Il Forno left me dreaming about how soon I could get back there to eat more! The menu offers a good variety of toppings - all fresh ingredients. Delicious! I was there on a crowded night after a concert. An adult baseball team was there and although they were loud, service was still good and the food was delivered hot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SUZANNAH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Could be so much better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here with kids. Pizza was a disappointment. Crust was crisp, which was nice, but too many toppings made the pizza wet, which made the crust soggy after a minute. Toppings were not that good, either. Staff obviously thought the place was there hang out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thero_Kenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Unique Pizza Dough makes it one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After a few visits I finally put my finger on what the dough reminds me of... fresh hand-rolled pretzels! If you like those, you will love this pizza, of any variety. Our favorite mix is pepperoni, mushrooms and pineapple.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seabrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favorite pizza place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've been here roughly once every two months for the last 15+ years. The pizza (especially the margherita) is amazing! I highly recommend the garlic bread too :) The staff is awesome and the happy hour prices are unbeatable. I now live within walking distance of Il Forno and frequent it even more. If you're not eating, it's a great place to sit and watch a game too. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Forno Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing