We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“My favorite pizza place ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Forno Pizzeria

Il Forno Pizzeria
Ranked #35 of 390 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favorite pizza place ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've been here roughly once every two months for the last 15+ years. The pizza (especially the margherita) is amazing! I highly recommend the garlic bread too :) The staff is awesome and the happy hour prices are unbeatable. I now live within walking distance of Il Forno and frequent it even more. If you're not eating, it's a great place to sit and watch a game too. Enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank lo a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    7
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pizza in MD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The pizza was awesome! We ordered pepperoni (my fave) with sausage. It was very tasty. The issue wasn't with the food or the service, but with the ceiling fans that surprisingly cooled our pizza before we could finish it...our waitress gladly had it placed back in the oven.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible/expensive/not worth the money!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Me and my husband have been here 4 times. The previous 2 times we ordered cheese fries and both times they were burnt to a crisp and one side of the pizza was also burnt. I told the waitress the fries are burnt and she said it was because they had to melt the cheese! I told no it's not, they are burnt to a crisp and she finally replaced with a better batch, but still slightly burnt. Last night we were forced to order here because everything was closed. We ordered one large pizza with 2 toppings, a small pizza with 2 toppings and 8 wings for take out. Our bill was $40!!!!!! Insane!!! I have never paid that much anywhere!!! And the pizza was bland and lacking much flavor! This place is extremely expensive and not worth the money. I have gone to more upscale restaurants and paid less! Never again!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovie2157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Frederick”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We love the pizza here. Have not even bothered with the rest of the menu because once we walk in the door the smell of the pizza leaves us no other option. Pizza! It's kind of a dive and I wouldn't hang out there on a Saturday night. But if you want to try an amazing pizza they are worth a stop. They have very limited delivery so plan to go there yourself. Kid-friendly in the afternoon. Too many bar crawlers at night. Service is decent. Bathroom needs a serious update.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShellyKP34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stop here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Large facility indoor and outside. Good service and food. Bar area usually well attended. Good menu for eat in or take out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann McClure M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Forno Pizzeria also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
 

Been to Il Forno Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing