We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been on my list for years” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar

Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Bar, Spanish, Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We welcome you to visit and enjoy our restaurant in downtown historic Frederick located in the Hendrickson Building. We have selected the finest Spanish cuisine complemented with an exclusive wine list. In the heart of historic Frederick, Maryland, Isabella"s has become a favorite destination for local residents and worldwide travelers alike in search of a truly Mediterranean dining experience.
brooklyn
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Been on my list for years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful place to intimately impress friends. It is my go to place in Frederick! Please call ahead for reservations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drewalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    121
    30
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
728 reviews
489 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Great on Friday from 5-6:30”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Three Tapas for $12.95 from 5-6:30 hence the crowds. Many to chose from. All very good. Service is good and they also have a nice wine list.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This was a let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I love tapas. LOVE. I find that no matter where I go, I know that hitting up a tapas restaurant equals a warm, inviting environment with creative food and drinks. The drink menu was sub par for a tapas bar, for sure. There is so much room to have specialized drinks and they really kept it to the same sorts of things you could get anywhere else on the street filled with bars and restaurants. We ate some very good plantain chips that were a special and the aoli sauce was really tasty but the paella was nothing to write home about.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moedawg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tasty food meant for sharing, but that's all.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We'd had good visits to Isabella's in the past but our last visit was enough to keep us from going back so frequently.

First I want to compliment the food. All the food we've had there was amazing. The goat cheese fritters are our very favorite. Tapas are the stars of the menu. Forget the rest. It's typical to order a round of tapas to pass around the table, then another round and another (if you have room!) However, that could take all night because the service (which used to be fine) has gotten slower and surlier.

The sangria was watery. Desserts are fine, but spend your stomach space on tapas instead if you go. And be prepared to wait a while.

The place turns into a nightclub after dinner hours on the weekend. Serves corporate breakfasts during the week. Trying to be too many things at once and it's affected the quality of their service.

Beware: they no longer accept restaurant.com gift certificates. And offer no apology for that. We had used them before (because the place is quite expensive for us without a little help from a gift card or coupon.) On a previous visit we tried to use one and were told we needed to contact the restaurant.com website. The server seemed visibly annoyed that we tried to use it (even though it was NOT expired) and as a result we could not afford as much of a meal there as we had planned. This affected our enjoyment of the meal as well as the amount of money that server made off our table. Would have been nice if they had posted signage outside or offered some kind of compensation for this, rather than let their customers plan a nice meal and then find out that they can no longer afford it. It's a pricey place. No doubt about that! Maybe we shouldn't go if we can't afford it at full price but we prefer to shop and eat at local businesses. So we expect to pay a little more. But this is no longer worth it.

The poor service, high prices and noise level (on a weekend, forget about having a conversation with your dinner partner!), this place is not worth the hype anymore.

Too bad because I still get cravings for those goat cheese fritters.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ShellyKP34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

One of the few places downtown open for breakfast so we gave it a try. Some unique, tasty breakfast options at reasonable prices.
Came again for dinner and really enjoyed it. Choice of small plates or full meals. Everything was well prepared. Service was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GHS154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing