We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”

Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 405 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We welcome you to visit and enjoy our restaurant in downtown historic Frederick located in the Hendrickson Building. We have selected the finest Spanish cuisine complemented with an exclusive wine list. In the heart of historic Frederick, Maryland, Isabella"s has become a favorite destination for local residents and worldwide travelers alike in search of a truly Mediterranean dining experience.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

One of the few places downtown open for breakfast so we gave it a try. Some unique, tasty breakfast options at reasonable prices.
Came again for dinner and really enjoyed it. Choice of small plates or full meals. Everything was well prepared. Service was excellent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank GHS154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    135
    30
    21
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always Great Food”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We love it at Isabellas and eat here usually once a month or so. They have many excellent and different/unusual tapas from which to choose and it is always good. We have also taken a cooking class here which was very fun (offered occasionally on Monday evenings when the restaurant is closed). We also love their portobello eggs benedict at the Sunday brunch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kldgbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damascus, Maryland USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, not so good service”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've been twice in the last three weeks. On our first visit, we found the food and atmosphere to be very nice. On our second visit, last weekend with a group of six, it was a different story. The food was still very good; however, we had one of the worst waitresses, I've ever had. She rushed us thoughout our entire meal, no manners, no smiles. . .until we forced a smile from her. After ordering a couple bottles of expensive wine, we got the feeling it was now ok to stay awhile. Again, don't get me wrong, the food was very good; however, we sure didn't feel welcome. If you have to choose a tapas place in Frederick, go to Ayse. At Ayse, they make you feel welcome and appreciate your business, as well as having wonderful food, and I'd say even better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TROWE39850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
742 reviews
403 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,324 helpful votes
“Go Elseware”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have dined here 3 times. The setting is quaint. Food and service in the past has been good. Nothing to rave about ...but nothing to complain about either. This time was sadly different.

Took a VERY long time for someone to even acknowledge us at a table. Not like before. Took forever for 2 glasses of wine to appear. We ordered the paella. It takes a while for it to be done. A good hour later, it appears. We were starving! Really, it was such a disappointment. All it really was, was alot of rice...with some saffron(?)...hardly. Not much seafood or sausage or peas for that matter. It was sad.

We told the manager but all we got was...I'm sorry. Really? What does that really do for me...towards the bill I am obligated to pay...for less than good food?

We will not be going back needless to say...I am sorry that I cannot reccomend this place to you. Not good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our favorite for so long, but we were disappointed”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Have been coming to Isabella's for many years. We liked it so much that we often made a trip to Frederick (which is 45 minutes from home!) just to enjoy a great tapas meal. Last Sunday, we stopped for a tapas lunch. None of the dishes we ordered were as good as they used to be. Our daughter ordered a panini (from a new, separate menu -- why paninis in a Spanish restaurant?) which was plain and uninspired. Frederick has so many good restaurants. In the past, we have often toyed with the idea of eating elsewhere, but have almost always ended up at Isabella's. Next time we will walk past Isabella's and finally get to try some of the other, intriguing restaurants that quaint Frederick has to offer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing