We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, not so good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar

Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar
44 N Market St, Fl 1, Frederick, MD 21701-5471
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 364 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We welcome you to visit and enjoy our restaurant in downtown historic Frederick located in the Hendrickson Building. We have selected the finest Spanish cuisine complemented with an exclusive wine list. In the heart of historic Frederick, Maryland, Isabella"s has become a favorite destination for local residents and worldwide travelers alike in search of a truly Mediterranean dining experience.
Damascus, Maryland USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, not so good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We've been twice in the last three weeks. On our first visit, we found the food and atmosphere to be very nice. On our second visit, last weekend with a group of six, it was a different story. The food was still very good; however, we had one of the worst waitresses, I've ever had. She rushed us thoughout our entire meal, no manners, no smiles. . .until we forced a smile from her. After ordering a couple bottles of expensive wine, we got the feeling it was now ok to stay awhile. Again, don't get me wrong, the food was very good; however, we sure didn't feel welcome. If you have to choose a tapas place in Frederick, go to Ayse. At Ayse, they make you feel welcome and appreciate your business, as well as having wonderful food, and I'd say even better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TROWE39850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
633 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,063 helpful votes
“Go Elseware”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have dined here 3 times. The setting is quaint. Food and service in the past has been good. Nothing to rave about ...but nothing to complain about either. This time was sadly different.

Took a VERY long time for someone to even acknowledge us at a table. Not like before. Took forever for 2 glasses of wine to appear. We ordered the paella. It takes a while for it to be done. A good hour later, it appears. We were starving! Really, it was such a disappointment. All it really was, was alot of rice...with some saffron(?)...hardly. Not much seafood or sausage or peas for that matter. It was sad.

We told the manager but all we got was...I'm sorry. Really? What does that really do for me...towards the bill I am obligated to pay...for less than good food?

We will not be going back needless to say...I am sorry that I cannot reccomend this place to you. Not good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HawaiiKaiGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Our favorite for so long, but we were disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Have been coming to Isabella's for many years. We liked it so much that we often made a trip to Frederick (which is 45 minutes from home!) just to enjoy a great tapas meal. Last Sunday, we stopped for a tapas lunch. None of the dishes we ordered were as good as they used to be. Our daughter ordered a panini (from a new, separate menu -- why paninis in a Spanish restaurant?) which was plain and uninspired. Frederick has so many good restaurants. In the past, we have often toyed with the idea of eating elsewhere, but have almost always ended up at Isabella's. Next time we will walk past Isabella's and finally get to try some of the other, intriguing restaurants that quaint Frederick has to offer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rikter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You leave stuffed - go with friends.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

They had a special with three selections for around 10 dollars. With a group we all shared our selections and had plenty of food. Will certainly go back. Get the fried asparagus.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They Took Our Chairs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just left Isabella's abruptly: we arrived late, shared 3 tapas and had two beers each. While drinking our last beers; and in the third quarter of the playoff game we were watching -an employee came by and informed us he needed to take our barstools because they were clearing out for the band. Nothing in his manner suggested that he regretted doing this. Nevermind we weren't finished with our beer/and nevermind there were fewer than 15 other people in the bar.
Loved the food, although prices are very high for the portion size.For ex: Fried oysters with salsa were 4 seriously tiny fried oysters with generous portion of salsa for $8.00.
Despite the excellent food, we would need to think hard about returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pegunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing