We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You leave stuffed - go with friends.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar

Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Bar, Spanish, Mediterranean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We welcome you to visit and enjoy our restaurant in downtown historic Frederick located in the Hendrickson Building. We have selected the finest Spanish cuisine complemented with an exclusive wine list. In the heart of historic Frederick, Maryland, Isabella"s has become a favorite destination for local residents and worldwide travelers alike in search of a truly Mediterranean dining experience.
Isle of Wight, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You leave stuffed - go with friends.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

They had a special with three selections for around 10 dollars. With a group we all shared our selections and had plenty of food. Will certainly go back. Get the fried asparagus.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    121
    30
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore MD
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“They Took Our Chairs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Just left Isabella's abruptly: we arrived late, shared 3 tapas and had two beers each. While drinking our last beers; and in the third quarter of the playoff game we were watching -an employee came by and informed us he needed to take our barstools because they were clearing out for the band. Nothing in his manner suggested that he regretted doing this. Nevermind we weren't finished with our beer/and nevermind there were fewer than 15 other people in the bar.
Loved the food, although prices are very high for the portion size.For ex: Fried oysters with salsa were 4 seriously tiny fried oysters with generous portion of salsa for $8.00.
Despite the excellent food, we would need to think hard about returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pegunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“An elegant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful hand crafted food. Lots of fun to pick and chose different appetizers or a mean. Well cooked, not your average mexican restaurant - this is definitely a nice spanish restaurant with loads of good tapas.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
272 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great Start to a fun evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We decided to visit Frederick for a night out & from Tripadvisor recommendations & a friend's recommendation, Isabellas was our 1st stop. The menu was extensive, but we decided on 2 plates for each person & lots of sharing. The Lomo Mantado & Portabella mushrooms were our favorite dishes that we selected. The portions were perfect for sharing & arrived quickly. We had 2 orders of the Asparagus fries & they were delicious, hot & crispy. We enjoyed Coconut Mojitos & a bottle of wine between our group of 4. I would definitely recommend Isabellas & hope to go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BethAnnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stopped both ways on our anniversary weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We make a point to stop at Isabella's whenever we are passing near Frederick. The Asparagus Fries are awesome. The daily Lunch special is a great deal - so Friday was a great time to swing by. Enjoy a glass of Sangria and relax.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing