We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An elegant experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar

Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 390 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We welcome you to visit and enjoy our restaurant in downtown historic Frederick located in the Hendrickson Building. We have selected the finest Spanish cuisine complemented with an exclusive wine list. In the heart of historic Frederick, Maryland, Isabella"s has become a favorite destination for local residents and worldwide travelers alike in search of a truly Mediterranean dining experience.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An elegant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful hand crafted food. Lots of fun to pick and chose different appetizers or a mean. Well cooked, not your average mexican restaurant - this is definitely a nice spanish restaurant with loads of good tapas.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    119
    28
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
270 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great Start to a fun evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We decided to visit Frederick for a night out & from Tripadvisor recommendations & a friend's recommendation, Isabellas was our 1st stop. The menu was extensive, but we decided on 2 plates for each person & lots of sharing. The Lomo Mantado & Portabella mushrooms were our favorite dishes that we selected. The portions were perfect for sharing & arrived quickly. We had 2 orders of the Asparagus fries & they were delicious, hot & crispy. We enjoyed Coconut Mojitos & a bottle of wine between our group of 4. I would definitely recommend Isabellas & hope to go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BethAnnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stopped both ways on our anniversary weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We make a point to stop at Isabella's whenever we are passing near Frederick. The Asparagus Fries are awesome. The daily Lunch special is a great deal - so Friday was a great time to swing by. Enjoy a glass of Sangria and relax.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for Tapas/small plates, lots of fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've eaten in this restaurant a few times over the years, when I was in the area and I've always enjoyed the food. it's so much fun to try small plates of really good food, mix/match and share with others. My husband and I just love to order a bunch of stuff off the menu and sit back and relax and enjoy the casual atmosphere. Always a good choice for lunch or dinner, especially if you get in before it gets crowded!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LFox06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Expansive tapas menu supplemented by some tasty mideastern/ Turkish items. Everything we ordered was tasty. Service good, quick and efficient maybe a bit hurried. Restaurant had tasteful decor but busy and tables a wee bit crowded and tight.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bink530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing