We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An elegant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar

Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 386 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: We welcome you to visit and enjoy our restaurant in downtown historic Frederick located in the Hendrickson Building. We have selected the finest Spanish cuisine complemented with an exclusive wine list. In the heart of historic Frederick, Maryland, Isabella"s has become a favorite destination for local residents and worldwide travelers alike in search of a truly Mediterranean dining experience.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“An elegant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wonderful hand crafted food. Lots of fun to pick and chose different appetizers or a mean. Well cooked, not your average mexican restaurant - this is definitely a nice spanish restaurant with loads of good tapas.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    111
    28
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great Start to a fun evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We decided to visit Frederick for a night out & from Tripadvisor recommendations & a friend's recommendation, Isabellas was our 1st stop. The menu was extensive, but we decided on 2 plates for each person & lots of sharing. The Lomo Mantado & Portabella mushrooms were our favorite dishes that we selected. The portions were perfect for sharing & arrived quickly. We had 2 orders of the Asparagus fries & they were delicious, hot & crispy. We enjoyed Coconut Mojitos & a bottle of wine between our group of 4. I would definitely recommend Isabellas & hope to go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BethAnnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stopped both ways on our anniversary weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We make a point to stop at Isabella's whenever we are passing near Frederick. The Asparagus Fries are awesome. The daily Lunch special is a great deal - so Friday was a great time to swing by. Enjoy a glass of Sangria and relax.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for Tapas/small plates, lots of fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I've eaten in this restaurant a few times over the years, when I was in the area and I've always enjoyed the food. it's so much fun to try small plates of really good food, mix/match and share with others. My husband and I just love to order a bunch of stuff off the menu and sit back and relax and enjoy the casual atmosphere. Always a good choice for lunch or dinner, especially if you get in before it gets crowded!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LFox06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Expansive tapas menu supplemented by some tasty mideastern/ Turkish items. Everything we ordered was tasty. Service good, quick and efficient maybe a bit hurried. Restaurant had tasteful decor but busy and tables a wee bit crowded and tight.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bink530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar also viewed

 

Been to Isabella's Taverna & Tapas Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing