We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Casual Gourmet”
Review of Monocacy Crossing

Monocacy Crossing
Reserve with OpenTable
Monocacy Crossing is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Casual Gourmet”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in a non-assuming quaint old house in a nook off of the road is where we've had the best buttermilk fried chicken with ham gravy, caprese & prosciutto, corn salsa, jambalaya and much more. Monocacy is one of those places that makes your mouth water when you think about something specific from their menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshandKyleDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    53
    23
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Fantastic meal and atmosphere! The wait staff was A+ also. There is not a single thing to complain about and a many to compliment. Not only was the food wonderful and exploding with flavor but the portion sizes were excellent also, we couldn't even come close to finishing dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown Maryland
Level Contributor
391 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, outstanding value”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

From my last review of Monocacy Crossing it has been about a year to the day. Went here last year for my Birthday also. We had reservations for 6:30, we arrived at 6:20 and were promptly seated. The staff there is happy to see you and professional. We were waited on immediately and ordered drinks to start. If you get a chance try the Freak Show Cabernet, it is fantastic. They specialize in pairing wines and great wines in general so take advantage. We ordered the special appetizers to start. French onion soup for my wife and a Pork Spring Roll for me. Both were done perfectly with that Monocacy Crossing Touch. The entrees came out after we were done our appetizers. So many places do not allow you time to finish the appetizers before putting the entrees out. Monocacy Crossing's staff actual watches you and makes sure when it is time. My wife had a sirloin salad, the goat cheese, greens and meat were set on a beautiful plate. I had the New York Strip steak set on mashed potatoes and green beans. Cooked exactly as I asked for it, presented nicely. The total bill with tip and three glasses of wine was $115, no complaints!

Sorry for the quality of the pictures, the cell phone leaves something to be desired.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D4379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxation \Time”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had just finished attending a performance of the Fredericktowne Players (Nunsense) and wanted some place to just relax, have some wine, a couple of appetizers and a shared salad. It was a typical fall day and we opted to eat on the patio. We were immediately served a basket of warm bread with soft butter. Instead of wine we ended up with a Woodford Reserve on the rocks and a Key Lime martini. Both were excellent. We selected a scallops with sauce appetizer followed by a crab fritter one. The shared grilled Caesar salad was tops. Service was prompt but not pushy. We lingered while slowly finishing our drinks. We always have been satisfied with the service and the food is exceptional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ORBPSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“First time”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I took my son and his family for dinner there in May for a combination birthday, his, and mother's day, dinner. I'd driven by the restaurant on several occasions and it wasn't always evident that it was still open. However, my son said he heard that it was good, and it was his birthday, so I made reservations for a Saturday night.

It was better than good from start to finish. Our server was polite and attentive, but not intrusive. The food was tasty and attractively plated. The prices were reasonable given the quality and quantity. We left full and happy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DWG6392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monocacy Crossing also viewed

 

Been to Monocacy Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing