We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how can it be this bad?”

Outback Steakhouse Frederick
Ranked #143 of 402 Restaurants in Frederick
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Frederick, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“how can it be this bad?”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Terrible, awful wait staff act bored and uninterested in what they are doing. The place is way too noisy. The steaks were over salted, fatty, and not even very tasty. I just don't understand why anyone would eat at this place when there are many places pretty close by with much better food. And with competent wait staff. For slightly less expensive and a little bit better, there is Famous Dave's about 1/4 mile up the road. For about the same money and far far better food, Gladchucks is about a mile away. Do you really want to know how good this place is? After eating there twice (the second time was certainly not my choice), I filled out the "review" card. Management contacted me to appologize for the bad experience and then sent me a coupon for a free meal. I gave it away.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2005-travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    26
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Busy night, but great food”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Due to bad weather on Friday, Jan 25, Saturday the 26th was packed. Had to wait for bar seats, but the staff made sure we had our drinks. After finally getting seats the staff still kept us in thier sites by coming round often to see what we needed. The food at Outback is always good. The only unfortunate bit was my shrimp and scallops were not hot. The manager immediately made sure that I got a whole new order that was hot.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always friendly staff and cold cocktails”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Normally I am inside at the bar area. Two bartenders are very friendly and always serve you promptly. Apps are not and served correctly. It's a fun place and the Manager takes pride in her restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Trav_whizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Reliable”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I enjoy going to Outback in all the years ive been going there ive always had great service and top notch steaks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FREDERICK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Steaks not cooked properly”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I don't know what's happened to this Outback. The last 2 times we went there, we had our steaks cooked either too little or too much. We asked the server to order our steaks with a warm pink center. The first time the steaks come out blood red. After we asked the server to cook them a little more, a couple of managers showed up and apologized.

On the next visit to this Outback we again ordered steak with a warm pink center. They came out well done and very tough. Since I didn't want to wait for another steak to be cooked, I didn't complain ( I should have).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse Frederick also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing