We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a.k.a. Friscos stands alone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of a.k.a. Friscos

a.k.a. Friscos
Ranked #17 of 383 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“a.k.a. Friscos stands alone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I havent been to a.k.a. Friscos in quite some time and coming back is soooo well worth it. I ordered the 'west of santa fe' salad .... its hands down the best salad ever. I also ordered the 'exploded potatoes' which are the most amazing potatoes ever. I couldnt finish it all and was more than happy to take it home for dinner. Plenty of parking and easy to get to. One of my favorite places.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    41
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Jewel of the Business Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Despite the setting and draw-backs of being located in a business park and less-than-savory warehouse style dining room, Friscos prepares excellent food- hot, spicy, and large portions. Recommendations: Santa Fe anything!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Finally Found You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Odd location, but worth the few minutes spent to get there from I70 or 270. They used to have a small shop in Washington, D.C. Northwest off of Wisconsin Ave. It's been 8 years since my last bite, but unforgettable food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Unitedwestand2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Superb Sandwiches and Salads in an Improbablle Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Delicious hand-crafted sandwiches, salads, exploded potatoes and similar casual fare. Very generous portions. Lively, welcoming, atmosphere. Is located, improbably, in a suburban industrial park, but don't let that deter you -- even on weekends, it is the "place to be." (Also a great place to pick up a picnic for Monocacy National Battlefield, nearby.)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A relaxed place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here on our way back from DC as it was described as good place for families with kids. Environment is very relaxed. You order from menu at a counter and then find your own table and they bring food to you when ready. Service was quick. People friendly. Good variety of sandwiches, salads and loaded baked potatoes. Food was good and sandwiches were big and filling.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenBenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a.k.a. Friscos also viewed

 

Been to a.k.a. Friscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing