We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Finally Found You” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of a.k.a. Friscos

a.k.a. Friscos
Ranked #27 of 390 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Finally Found You”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Odd location, but worth the few minutes spent to get there from I70 or 270. They used to have a small shop in Washington, D.C. Northwest off of Wisconsin Ave. It's been 8 years since my last bite, but unforgettable food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Unitedwestand2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    44
    16
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Superb Sandwiches and Salads in an Improbablle Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Delicious hand-crafted sandwiches, salads, exploded potatoes and similar casual fare. Very generous portions. Lively, welcoming, atmosphere. Is located, improbably, in a suburban industrial park, but don't let that deter you -- even on weekends, it is the "place to be." (Also a great place to pick up a picnic for Monocacy National Battlefield, nearby.)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A relaxed place to eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here on our way back from DC as it was described as good place for families with kids. Environment is very relaxed. You order from menu at a counter and then find your own table and they bring food to you when ready. Service was quick. People friendly. Good variety of sandwiches, salads and loaded baked potatoes. Food was good and sandwiches were big and filling.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenBenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great potatoes and sandwich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

quick service, excellent 'clean' food, and awesome exploded potatoes. My daughter and I enjoyed it. It was a little hard to find,buried in the industrial area but we hung in there and were glad we did.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryLee22043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Finally a Real Sandwich in Maryland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I found out about Frisco's as I was looking for a place for an ice cream cone. Well, found the cone but also a great sandwich. Each sandwich will need two hands to hold it while you eat it. The menu has great choices and as you can tell from the other reviews, exploded potatoes are a great choice. Their soups are really good too and always changing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JRP-4H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed a.k.a. Friscos also viewed

 

Been to a.k.a. Friscos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing