We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a secret!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sardis

Sardis
Ranked #39 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a secret!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wow, this place is amazing! I was in Frederick on an extended business trip. We were near the end of our stay when a collegue took us there for lunch. The aroma of the food is sooo good that you can hardly wait to taste the food...and it does not disappoint! We went one day and I ordered the pork chop lunch special, others in our party ordered a variety of other dishes (gyros,chicken), all were very pleased. Some of the luch special came with a drink and it was still under $10.00. One collegue ordered the plantain. We had all had it before but were blown away by it's remarkable taste! Without exception, WE ALL walked out with an order of plantain! The food was sooo good that we ALL went back to Sardis again...solo. When in Frederick or parts nearby, do not pass on an opportunity to check this place out. Although the place was packed during lunch, I'm so sure it's a secret, because if more people knew about it, there would be standing room only! I (and my collegues) highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portales
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Peruvian chicken? Yes, thank you, please more.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I admit I mostly ate cerviche or other meats in Peru last summer so my authenticity meter may be suspect. There is nothing suspect about the chicken here. It is awesome, unique in flavor and spice, perfectly cooked, tender, juicy, and generous. They don't skimp on the sides, either, which are as expertly prepared as the chicken. Loved the yucca and yes they have Inca Kola (the national soft drink). It's tucked away in a strip behind another strip. Inside is nicer than what you might expect but not fancy by any means. I hope to go back to Peru now and eat chicken there but til then I will lots of their chicken.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paolo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mmmmm Peruvian chicken.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Finally there is a Peruvian chicken place in Frederick! Everything is on point, chicken is moist and flavorful. Plantains taste amazing, and the sauce! Don't forget the sauce!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Electrotech11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is the best food I have eaten out in a long time and worth the money and the wait. The environment is a little noisey,but what do you expect with a large lunch crowd. Everyone have there own conversation going on along with the music.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee1227201230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
228 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A hole in the wall serving the best rotisserie chicken in Frederick!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Sardis is located in a small strip mall on a side street off a stretch of highway (Route 40) that hosts every food chain known to mankind. Sardis is such a great alternative. The orientation is Peruvian so sides include fried plantains and yucca. You can also buy Inca Kola to wash down your meal. The chicken is delicious. Not sure what the spicing is but it is absolutely yummy. The location is very informal (It is a storefront, after all) so if you decide to eat there, don't look for ambience. It's a great place to pick up a great deal to take home and judging from the line mid-week, I'm guessing lots of people in Frederick have figured that out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laviajeraliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardis also viewed

 

Been to Sardis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing