We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simply the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bueno

Cafe Bueno
Ranked #21 of 385 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cafe Bueno is located at the intersection of East and 5th Streets. We are located in the same center as 7-11, about 3 blocks north of Shab Row. There is plenty of free parking in our large front lot.Cafe Bueno serves authentic Mexican food, and yes, we are the real deal! We have ten different kinds of tacos! A few highlights are our hand-breaded fish tacos, topped with radishes, cabbage, and served with cilantro salsa on the side, or tacos al pastor, which is a combination of spicy marinated pork and pineapple, served on a soft corn tortilla and topped with onions, cilantro, and fresh lime. Our salsa verde and salsa roja hot sauces are freshly made in-house of genuine Mexican ingredients, including tomatillos, jalapenos, guajillo chiles and chile de arbol. Our meats are all hand-cut, marinaded to perfection, and served on tacos or on a massive torta sandwich. The infamous torta cubana is not to be missed - a combination of steak, spicy pork, ham, hot dog, egg, lettuce, tomato, mayo, onion, jalapeno, and avocado. We serve Mexican breakfasts all day, including huevos rancheros, huevos con chorizo (our chorizo is made fresh in-house, of course!) And we serve all the American classics, like eggs, homefries, pancakes, and french toast, until 11am. We also have daily specials showcasing other authentic Mexican dishes, such as sopes, huaraches, carne asada, chile rellenos, mole enchiladas, carnitas, and much more!
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I have eaten a lot of Mexican food. This place rivals the best places you will find in the southwest. The burritos are amazing. Make sure you get the fried ice cream for dessert. They actually drop the battered ice cream scoop in the fryer and serve it with chocolate or honey. Oh and if you see the Chicken Mole Enchiladas on the specials menu make sure you get them! Chips don't come with the meal, but if you order them they are fried to order and the guacamole is homemade!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Had heard great things about Cafe Bueno, today was my first chance to go. The staff was friendly and helpful!! Food was AMAZING!! I had Mexican Style Al Pastor Tacos (spicy pork and pineapple in soft corn tortillas with onions, cilantro, and fresh lime) and fresh sopapillas for dessert. The flavors were SO FRESH and very flavorful!! They serve breakfast, too!! Cannot wait to try their carnitas!! This is a DEFINITE do-over and soon!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FPaschal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I've had tongue tacos and I recently had the shrimp tacos (not on the menu). They were awesome!! They came with a refreshing queso fresco and sour cream with avocado. They were very, very good! They also served me fresh tortilla chips and pretty darn tasty salsa. I would highly recommend this place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value for authentic Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

This small unassuming Mexican restaurant consistently serves great and authentic Mexican dishes. I specially enjoyed the homemade chorizo sausage.

Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
248 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food - you won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This place is tucked away between a 7-11 and laundromat, but don't let its location keep you away. The food is very good and the owner helpful and friendly. I had the fish tacos the last time and it was done just right. The chicken and chorizo tacos (Mexican style with corn tortillas) and the spicy pork burritos are also great. Besides the great food at low prices, several features make CB very different from other Mexican-style restaurants in Frederick. While the serving sizes are generous, they don't have the huge slop of not-so-hot refried beans/cheap cheese/lame rice that seem to take over the meals at some places. Something as simple as making exceptionally good salsa also helps CB stand out. Any downers? The place has table seating for less than 30 so once people hear about it, getting a table may require a wait in the near future. Some folks have already solved this problem by eating their lunches in their vehicles in the parking lot.
Have a great meal!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2005-travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bueno also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Bueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing