We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayse Meze

Ayse Meze
Shab Row East Street, Frederick, MD 21701
12406515155
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ayse Meze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 364 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Lebanese, European, Spanish, Turkish, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Patrick and North East
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We started with a pomegranate mimosa and a Kolch. Both very good. Then out came our tapas. First the Saganki or Flaming cheese. Very dramatic. Cooked right in front of you to a nice melted consistency. Then the brukel lahanasi or delicious Brussel sprouts. The spanakopita seemed very fresh and had a tasty yogurt sauce. The Best part of the meal was the Adana. It was a tasty ground lamb skewer. It has another tasty yogurt sauce. I would probably skip the hunkar beggendi or lamb stew. Too full for dessert.

Helpful?
1 Thank karensphelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My friend and I decided to give this restaurant a try during a day of shopping in downtown Frederick. What a find! The room is lovely and the service was outstanding. But the food!!! The small plates were perfectly portioned so that we could taste and enjoy four different selections. Each was delicious, with interesting, complex flavors. Our only "complaint" is that there were so many, many choices to make. We finished with Turkish coffee and shared walnut cake. If only I lived closer..... But this will definitely be a "go to" restaurant the next time I am in Frederick.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JanWMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic gem of a restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went here for my mother's birthday dinner and ended up just in awe of the food! The place is very cool looking, and the outside patio looks like it would be divine in the summer. The waiter was very attentive and helpful. We ordered a ton of dishes and everything was just fantastic. Service was really good and the food is the star of this restaurant. Definitely the most fun and memorable birthday dinner yet! I plan on coming back here as much as possible!!

Fan favorites from our dinner: brussel sprouts, veal sweetbreads, fried calamari, the hummus sampler, seared sea scallops, beet salad, beef filet... everything was tender, delicious and just so wonderful! Great pairings for the ingredients of the dishes, and the flavors were just out of this world good. Seriously cannot say enough good things about this restaurant! Go here, you will not regret it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiki_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, service, price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a new favorite for us. Went here last night, and not having much experience with Greek fare, asked the waitress for her recommendations, and everything was very good. This is a great place for 2 or 4. I can see why it is getting great reviews. We will make this a regular stop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TW36T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, PA
Level Contributor
225 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Tapas, Middle Eastern style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Perfectly prepared sharable dishes! A little costly. A great place for a date. You MUST have the brussel sprouts! I know the picture I took of them isnt that appealing but I am telling you...omg. The scallops were very good but at about $6 per scallop I will try something else next time. The moussaka was very good as well. Nest time I will get a double order of brussel sprouts and the lamb stew. You must try this place! Think Greek, Turkish, Lebanese type food. If my review is helpful please click YES! Thank you!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paymeami2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayse Meze also viewed

 

Been to Ayse Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing