We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurray! A restaurant in Frederick to love!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayse Meze

Ayse Meze
Reserve with OpenTable
Ayse Meze is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 383 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: East Patrick and North East
2 reviews
“Hurray! A restaurant in Frederick to love!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I've lived in the area for almost 2 years and have been very dissappointed with local food- until now! Terrific mezza, reasonably priced. Pleasant atmosphere, terrific waiter. Lots of vegetarian options. Full bar, decent beer selection. Hold the door open, I'm coming back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hiwaysttar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    107
    33
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visited this wonderful restaurant again for lunch. Awesome specials and delicious food. My wife and I just love this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aircop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, md
Level Contributor
192 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Generally Enjoyable, Last Night Was a Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoy Ayse Meze. The menu is terrific and varied. The cheese flambe is unique and very delicious. This summer we have dined on the patio and listened to live music -- definitely a treat in downtown Frederick.

Last night we went for dessert. The restaurant was very busy. The waitress ignored us and made up excuses, including blaming the kitchen, for taking an hour to get us ice cream and cake for four people. The wait staff kept bringing us dishes we did not order. They need to get their act together.

We will be back next weekend. The wait staff is generally very attentive and last night was an exception (we hope!).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vulturecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
463 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Outstanding - Variety of Unusual Flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Thanks go to my friends who, based on their previous visits, brought me here. I now know the answer to the question "How do you turn brussel sprouts into a memorable highlight?" Answer: eat here. The brüksel lahanası elevated a routine side dish into a flavor packed interesting and memorable dining choose; for $8.00. This success was repeated over and over as the ten of us dined on meze portions on a Wednesday evening in the large and formally furnished dining room. The preparation and flavors all seemed to have creative twists.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went with a group of 12 women for a bridal/bachelorette dinner. We were seated on the patio. Drink orders came out in a fairly timely manner, initially. We waited for a very long time for the first courses to come out. They brought no plates, silverware or napkins. When we requested flatware, a server literally dumped a pile of forks and knives in front of the guest of honor on the table. I could not believe it. We then went and retrieved our own napkins and remaining flatware from the waitress station. The food came out VERY slowly. After two hours a few of the women still did not have some of their entrees, (filet mignon does not take hours to prepare) and ultimately we cancelled that portion as we were ready to leave. I have been to many restaurants over the years and I have to say this is the poorest service I have ever had. We were a very patient group, but were extremely dissapointed. I will say the food was great but I would not return, nor recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mixie-shasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ayse Meze also viewed

 
Frederick, MD
 

Been to Ayse Meze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing