We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great for anyone, atomosphere and food to suit all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House

JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House
Reserve with OpenTable
JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 385 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: No Cross Street
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great for anyone, atomosphere and food to suit all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had the unusual circumstance of eating in the same restaurant twice in one week. The first time my husband and I sat on the bar side. The atmosphere there was great, lively and casual.
Later in the week we met another couple on Saturday night in the dining room. Nicer, but not too stuffy. The beauty of the main dining room on Saturday was that we could enjoy the live music from the bar side, but still hear each other and enjoy our conversations without yelling.
Now for the food I must say the steak grinder sandwich ($12) was outstanding as was the steak salad ($16) . My only complaint was the Lump Crap Mac and Cheese ($18) which sounded so good, but when it arrived we couldn't find any crabmeat. It was tasty but for $18, it was way overpriced mac and cheese. Aside from the Mac and Cheese the prices were reasonable and everyone enjoyed their meals. I recommend this to couples or families with older kids after a day in lovely downtown Frederick.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FilledWithJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    37
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in today for a late lunch/early dinner and we were pleasantly surprised. The menu is interesting, the beer selection eclectic and the service was friendly. Add to that the outdoor seating and you have the makings of a fine meal. The grilled shrimp tacos were well prepared and the hamburger was made from very tasty, very fresh beef served on a brioche bun. Not the most exciting thing on the menu but fine comfort food for a lazy Saturday afternoon

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Frederick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

How can JoJo's not be rated higher? We ate at the restaurant on a Friday night during a recent long weekend in Frederick and it was so good we went back to the bar on Saturday for drinks and appetizers. The food was the best we had in Frederick. Service was fantastic. Selection of craft beer was impressive. So glad that the folks at Flying Dog recommended that we go there!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank erinwellsmcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Great service and the food was excellent. I had the crab cakes which had big lumps of crab meat and very little filling.

Helpful?
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good spot for your date night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Our first time to JoJo's and will not be last. We were seated by the street window which us always nice. The room is quiet even with the large crowd so it can be intimate if you are looking for something special. Ask for the window.

The service was very good as our server was always ready to help and kept our glasses full.

The food was tasty and creative. We both liked our appetizers of stuffed avacado and the shrimp spring roll. Dinners we also well prepared as my blackens catfish was cooked to perfection. My wife had the simply prepared shrimp taco Taft was satisfying. The highlight however was desert as the oatmeal stout cheese cake was killer.

Overall we enjoyed dinner and will visit for happy hour in the near future.

Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House also viewed

 

Been to JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing