We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Favorite spot to hang out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House

JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House
Reserve with OpenTable
JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 389 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: No Cross Street
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Favorite spot to hang out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

JoJo's has a great happy hour selection. I enjoy hanging out with friends, having a drink and getting some food. The menu is varied and has something for everyone. They have a sunday brunch that is fabulous! I recommend coming for that and watching the game on the TV's they have located through out. They have a great little stage and is just starting to have some entertainment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey1vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    42
    21
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Maybe we hit it on an off night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I went to JoJo's full anticipation. After participating in a local bike race where we were told to take our bibs to JoJo's to get an extra discount so that's what we did. We were disappointed that all we received were the regular Sunday evening specials, none of which appealed to us- we were excited at the prospect of experiencing some of the 20 beers on draft.

The waitress answered beer questions vaguely, not much of a description and no offers of samples.

The menu choices were limited, honestly, there really wasn't anything that really appealed to me, so I decided to try a couple of the appetizers- the spring rolls and stuffed zucchini. UGH! The springroll was deep fat fried to a hard, thick, dark brown crunch. The stuffed zucchini had so much cheese on it, it completely overwhelmed it. Come on, I'm trying eat healthy.

The husband was happy with his burger.

With so many really good restaurants and bars in Frederick there's no reason for me to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive, good food and service, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had dinner at JoJo's recently. We sat in the dining room. Got a table right away and server came right by for drink order. He was knowledgeable about the beers, but honest about those he hadn't tasted yet. We enjoyed a couple of seasonal craft beers and one in our party had a tasty pumpkin martini. Food was delicious. The reviews about the prime rib sandwich are spot on. It is awesome. Started with crab fritters, very good and more than enough for the 3 of us. Others in the party had the "hot" hamburger with several chili's - said it was very good and one had the filet mignon. Cooked perfectly. Stopped by the bar on the way out and it was lively and fun. It has a big city feel, but with the small town welcoming atmosphere. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KMTGolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What's not to like?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

First of all, the place is a HUGE improvement over what used to be there, Patricks Pub and Anne's Steakhouse. First impressions are the most important and JoJo's did not disappoint. I went with two friends and we went on a busy Friday evening but you wouldn't have known it with the service that was provided by our server (we cannot remember his name but he was tall with blonde hair, very personable). We felt as if we were his only table and catered to our every want and need quickly. We started with the baked crab rolls and the spring rolls(4 rolls per serving each) and they both were nicely flavored but not too heavy serving as a great appetizer. I had the eight ounce filet, medium rare, and my friends had the rib eye sandwich and a special which was a grilled chicken glazed in a maple habanero sauce. We all LOVED our individual meals and ended up eating off each others plates for the duration of our meal. Once we had finished our meal, the server provided us with his quite elaborate and emphatic description of the exploding s'more and we were instantly sold. The dessert did not disappoint either. It came exactly as described and the taste was exquisite. Our total bill for the three of us was just short of $80 (including three cocktails).

Our overall experience was amazing and that was just the dining room! Afterwards, we walked to the bar where we enjoyed an exciting and lively atmosphere. For the sports enthusiasts, there are three televisions which were constantly tuned into some sports game for the duration we were there, mainly baseball. There twenty beers on tap and just the look of some of the taps are fun to look at on their own. There are Miller Lite and Yuengling, but after that there are 18 craft beers on draft, many from local breweries such as Flying Dog and Evolution. The service was speedy as there were three bartenders working and they were all extremely personable.

Overall, our experience was just about perfect. For a new restaurant in an already extremely competitive area with restaurants all up and down the famed Market Street, JoJo's put their stamp on downtown Frederick, I highly suggest you go in, I know i'll be going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
“Awesome food and great beer selection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

JoJo's is a place to check out! They have only been open a few weeks and I've gone back numerous times. They have a great selection of 20 beers on tap and a great happy hour specials. I've tried many things on the menu from the appetizers (crab fritters and pork belly tacos) and dinners (Blackened Haddock and Burgers). I would highly recommend you check out this up and coming restaurant in Frederick! It's become my new favorite bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House also viewed

 

Been to JoJo's Restaurant & Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing