We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Take a stroll” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baker Park

Baker Park
121 N. Bentz St., Frederick, MD 21701
301 600-1492
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 44 things to do in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Take a stroll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Beautiful city park. Easy, flat walking trails along manicured lawns, passing ball fields, fountains, gardens. Flanked by lovely homes. Especially lovely in the spring. Bands often playing in the band shell which adds to the ambience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FilledWithJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    41
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksburg, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful space in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We often go there just to walk the length of the park. We will stop and look at the creek, watching for fish, maybe talk to passersby or someone fishing. There are birds chirping, families playing, people running, walking riding bikes.
Recently we took a walk and on our way back found that there was a trio singing at the Baker Park band shell. We sat on a bench under a tree and just listened. It was a nice way to end our walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, Usa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice place to walk or to take some pictures.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place goes crazy on the 4th of July since this is where the city of Frederick puts on its fireworks display. there are also events scheduled once in a while that are always fun.
Most of the time, this is just a great place to walk and relax. The park has lots a paths, water features and is surrounded by stately, well-kept homes.
Bring a camera especially since there is a covered footbridge that begs to have its picture taken - hopefully with you in the picture, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

While visiting Frederick for a couple days, this park was a wonderful place to get out and walk my dog. The park has great a great walking trail that connect to Sandy creek park in the downtown area. I felt it was safe and it was scenic. Very nice

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wanderingk9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Worth a Stroll or a Run”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have lived here since 1997 and go out of my way to spend time at Baker Park. I like to take runs here to add variety to my routine. It's so easy to do! Just park your car near the Talley Rec Center (for free!) and wind your way around the park. There are tons of different ways to create 20-50 minutes runs. One thing I would suggest is that the City of Frederick consider making/providing a map of the park with different suggested running routes with mileage so that runners can follow them. Walk your dog, see the fireworks on the Fourth of July, see family concerts, attend festivals; I have done all of this at Baker Park. It always feels like Frederick deserves to be voted one of the best places to live in America!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank happynowyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baker Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing