We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not Your Average Pizza Shop” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coal Fire Pizza

Coal Fire Pizza
Ranked #96 of 395 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened within the last six months.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
“Not Your Average Pizza Shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We've been here a number of times, including May 18, and my thoughts are consistent with each of our visits. Pizza quality is good, but they go light on the meat toppings for some reason. Pizza crust is always nice and crispy, and the quality of the toppings is good. They give you three different sauces to choose from, from non-spicy to spicy, so they have something to please different pallets. They have an amazing selection of domestic beers, not only the traditional brews but a huge variety of microbrews - this is unique for pizza shops that I've been to. They also have a nice wine selection. Service has always been good. Atmosphere is nice, too, if a tad on the noisy side. They also have a number of sandwiches, pasta (mac and cheese looks great) and a nice little bar, so this is a full-service restaurant (except for dessert, which they do not offer).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank happyhourguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    15
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Crispy Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I usually don't like thin crusty pizza but Coal Fire's was crispy and I liked it very much. I had there signature sauce which was just slightly sweet and very tasty. I will go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GEOCacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Meh.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We've been to Coal Fire a few times, even taking guests on one of those visits because they wanted to try it. But I have yet to be impressed. The service is not that great. The pizza is not that great. The subs are decent but there are better places to get subs. The kid's menu is just odd. Fries are good. But with so many great pizza and sandwich places in Frederick I won't be making another trip to Coal Fire. There are just places I like much much better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShellyKP34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“pizza is nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have only eaten there once and it was so bad, I will not be back. They had a huge number of waitstaff and other bored-looking people hanging around with not much to do. The pizza was disappointing. There are far better pizzas to be had in Frederick (e.g. Brewer's Alley, Ilforno, Pizza Blitz, etc etc - even Lido's).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2005-travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Their pizza is delicious. It is coal-fired so the crust is thin and very crispy. The sauce is different from most pizzas. We tend to get the signature sauce which is a little sweeter. I've had the spicy sauce in the past. While it is somewhat spicy, it tends to kick in later but it's not an unbearable spicy. Service is usually very good and attentive. Very nice food and experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coal Fire Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Coal Fire Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing