We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty, but uneven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Family Meal

Family Meal
Reserve with OpenTable
Family Meal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Chef Bryan Voltaggio's modern American diner offers affordable all-day meals in a former Frederick car dealership transformed by clever design and raw, natural materials into an open, airy space, with a long counter fronting an open kitchen; its menu elevates the comfort-food canon, while adult beverages include boozy milkshakes as well as wine, beer and cocktails. Signature dishes include Fried Chicken with Buttermilk Biscuits, Meatloaf with Mushroom Gravy and Duck Fat Fried Potatoes.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tasty, but uneven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had a mixed experience on this visit. We ordered appetizers - little pot pie bites and hoecakes - both were served in a timely manner and were delicious. We ordered a few shares with our meals. I split two dinners with my family - both were delicious - shrimp and grits and chicken with biscuit. However, other dining guests at our table sent their's back to be warmed and one was too salty. Our shares never arrived. Waiter apologized and offered us free desserts. I had the chess pie, which was yummy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Naturespeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    178
    99
    37
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
145 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast in contemporary decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

I have had a few breakfasts in the past 2 weeks in the area but this topped the options. We asked for grilled tomatoes, which weren't included on the menu, and we were served wonderful tasty tomatoes with our egg and bacon choices. I loved the décor; lots of wood and open plan kitchen. It's situated in an industrial looking area which suits the decor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Glen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Uneven Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We were excited to try this place, but although the appetizers were good (hoecakes and wings are worth going for), the entries were just okay. Of four entries we ordered, only one loved her food (fried chicken). The ambiance was non-existent. It was loud and cafeteria-like. Service was okay. We were seated directly facing the blazing sun, and the windows had no shades, blinds, or curtains. And we had a reservation! I don't think I would go back or recommend it. It's not upscale enough for an occasion and too expensive for a non-occasion despite a few bright spots.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank profrmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Family Meal is owned by the same chefs who own Volt in Frederick. The chef won TopChef on tv. Our meal was wonderful. Sangria was so refreshing on a warm day. We say outside on the porch. No view but great personalities with wait staff!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank c w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ok but so many better choices downtown Frederick.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Food was not anything exceptional and limited choices. Liked the open atmosphere and outside seating option.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family Meal also viewed

 

Been to Family Meal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing