We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Food and Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mistero Bar And Italian grille - CLOSED

Mistero Bar And Italian grille
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hagerstown, MD
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came for a quiet birthday celebration and were treated to fantastic food and service on Sunday, November 4th. Since this was our first time here, we choose the upstairs dining area and, boy were we pleasantly suprised! You have a choice of a few large booths or several tables. The wait staff was excellent and attentive. The food was delicious, plentiful, and prepared to our needs. We had the Bistro Salad which was ample and included fried goat cheese, which was surprisingly good. Our entrees, Veal Mistero and the Cioppino, were not disappointing, and we would recommend them both. For dessert, my husband was treated to the free birthday cannoli, and I enjoyed the chocolate cheesecake. Great ending to a dlicious meal! We will definitely be back to enjoy other selections in the future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneHagerstown_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    22
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Our first visit to Mistero's. We were pleasantly surprised. Very quaint setting, nicely setup. The service and manager were very attentive. The food was excellent and plentiful. A very varied choice of selections on the menu. We will definitiely be back and recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food, staff, atmosphere and bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We've been there several times with big groups of people and have not had one bad experience. Everything has been great. Oh, once my espresso tasted somewhat burned, but, have had many since that were perfect. So there's my 1 "complaint" :-)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PandorasInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You Must Be Kidding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

WHERE are the Happy Hour people going in Frederick ? Definitely not enough to a 4-7 PM, M-F, at Mistera ?! No chicken wings, no stuffed celery, no mystery spread; instead, off the regular menu appetizers at ONE HALF PRICE !!!! Mussels, shrimp, stuffed risotto, garlic bread, brushetti, discounted drinks, on & on.

AND, if you stick around for dinner, or come back another day, the main courses are fabulous.

Complaint ? Yes, put an Italian wine in the house selections.

This place is worth every penny, whenever & whatever you eat.

The food is not good here-----IT'S GREAT !!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TETSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Downtown Frederick is full of great restaurants. I was surprised to see a sign indicating that there was a new Italian restaurant behind Brewer's Alley. We went there for lunch and the food was great and reasonably priced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LGude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mistero Bar And Italian grille also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing