We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canal Bar & Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Canal Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Waitstaff
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just stopped in today for football. Right now they are the only place I could find in downtown Frederick with the NFL ticket. The service was great, despite a packed place. The server/bartender really knew her stuff and suggested some wings with a tasty honey garlic sauce and a tasty chicken sandwich with lots of crabmeat and cheddar cheese. We stayed for awhile and when we were ready to leave, she pointed us in the direction of some great little shops up the street. We will DEFINITELY be back!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heathermc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidd3rd1, Owner at Canal Bar & Grill, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank You for your review. We try very hard to please our customers. Looking forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Place to Drop In”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good place to drop in for a drink and a meal. Very friendly staff. Was most impressed to see a staff member using American sign language to take orders from deaf patrons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a simple place that serves a wide variety of food. I went on HH and Steak night. It was a great value! The drinks pours are strong!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stacey1vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food, Laid back atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to try Canal Grill after reading a favorable review and we were not disappointed. We had Quesadilla as our appetizer and is pretty good. We both had salads and we loved the homemade Honey Mustard. It almost tasted like the great homemade Honey Mustard at Houston's Restaurant (if you have ever had it there). The waitress was pretty good even though she was one only waitress that day (and really pretty too). The grilled chicken was very tasty and cooked perfectly. I can't wait to try out more items. It's not a very big restaurant, but it has a quaint, cozy atmosphere. I definitely recommend this place for lunch, dinner, or just some drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gljohnsonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Wings & Burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

35 Cent wings on Thursdays and $5 Burgers on Wednesdays...my husband is salivating! The salads were great too...try the Bob Cobb's Salad, delicious! Small establishment and friendly service...the kind of place that you can feel at home at quickly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cassie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing