We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little place”
Review of Canal Bar & Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Canal Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Frederick, MD
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a simple place that serves a wide variety of food. I went on HH and Steak night. It was a great value! The drinks pours are strong!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stacey1vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myersville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food, Laid back atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to try Canal Grill after reading a favorable review and we were not disappointed. We had Quesadilla as our appetizer and is pretty good. We both had salads and we loved the homemade Honey Mustard. It almost tasted like the great homemade Honey Mustard at Houston's Restaurant (if you have ever had it there). The waitress was pretty good even though she was one only waitress that day (and really pretty too). The grilled chicken was very tasty and cooked perfectly. I can't wait to try out more items. It's not a very big restaurant, but it has a quaint, cozy atmosphere. I definitely recommend this place for lunch, dinner, or just some drinks.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gljohnsonjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frederick
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Wings & Burgers!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

35 Cent wings on Thursdays and $5 Burgers on Wednesdays...my husband is salivating! The salads were great too...try the Bob Cobb's Salad, delicious! Small establishment and friendly service...the kind of place that you can feel at home at quickly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cassie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very nice place”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I live nearby and go there all the time. Very friendly people and very good food. Fresh salads, good wings, good beer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bookworm_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best local owned establishment in downtown Frederick”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stopped in with a date and found this to be a nice local pub with the best menu and food. Voted best wings in the area, the Brink's BLT is a popular lite sandwich for a quick lunch. Friday steak night I was there and it was great with a glass of "purple cowboy"

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sean1270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canal Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing