We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pulled pork” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #94 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clarksburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pulled pork”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Famous Dave's has the best pulled pork sandwiches in the Frederick, MD area. Their lunches are priced great but dinner time is a little pricey for seniors. The service was good but my soda order came back wrong and I wasn't offered a refill. I would do lunch but no more dinner times.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geniejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    18
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Famous Dave's is a great place to eat. The food is very tasty, delicious! Menu offers wide variety. Food tastes fresh and is cooked the way you want! Love this place!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCL9496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Meaty Sweet Goodness!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wow! As one can see in the picture, Famous Dave's certainly knows how to serve a real full rack (12 bones) of St. Louis spare ribs, with each bone is abundantly covered with delicious sweet smokey meat. I can tell that these ribs were cooked "low and slow" due to the pink hue (see attached picture) of smoking process.

The meat was almost fall off the bone in texture, but had some snap to it. The sauce was sweet and tangy with a slight onion flavor. IMO, the best ribs I've had since eating at Fat Mats Rib Shach in Atlanta, Georgia (which I consider the best bbq ribs I've ever had), in 2009.

The side of baked beans was also delicious. The bits of sausage and onion, combined in a tangy sauce, complimented the ribs very well. At $25, I felt I got my money's worth. IMO, this far surpasses that other bbq place in downtown Frederick.

The service was friendly and quick. The server even brought out a fresh glass of Pepsi before I was done with the first one. Famous Dave's is my home-base for spare ribs in Frederick.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dblumgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“BBQ Standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Never a surprise here. You get consistent food without surprise. I had the Ga Pork as my standard however he service does make this place. I would hit the Black Hog for a cooler hang out but f your with the family this place fills the bill. Staff friendly and the ace is clean. Enjoy

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kehrha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Consistently Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

A great BBQ restaurant, Famous Dave's is always a good value, with excellent food. The restaurant was recently renovated and has a friendly atmosphere. The service is always quick and efficient. We never leave there hungry. We always leave there totally satisfied!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank piercetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing