We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Cuban Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabor de Cuba

Sabor de Cuba
Reserve with OpenTable
Sabor de Cuba is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: S. Market St.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Cuban Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went here for Happy Hour after work. They have their Margarita's on special and he spicy Margarita is a must try. The food is so good! The portions are big! The service was great and the places was clean!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey1vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    44
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great addition to downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We went here on a whim to try something new. The service was good and the food was great. Very flavorful and generous servings- enough to take leftovers home. The decor is much improved over the last restaurant that had this space. Just look for the old Snow White Grill facade on Patrick Street near the square corner. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AMChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We've been here three weekends in a row”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We've been here three weekends in a row. The food is excellent, the service is friendly, and it's a great casual Cuban atmosphere. A definite regular spot for us frequent restaurant-goers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AshandKyleDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Hard to improve on this place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and rarely take the time to go out for a proper date night... So it took us months to find the time to make the 70 minute pilgrimage to Sabor de Cuba. We can't stop raving about how warm and inviting the energy was...from the guests to the staff to the owners who made it feel like we were at friends house. The food was AMAZING and prices required a double take when we got the bill we actually asked if it was a mistake because it was so low. We cannot wait to go back and try the few things on the menu we didn't load up on last night. A+ !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nelsonjcolumbano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good if you prefer little spices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I know little about Cuban food, but my husband has for years enjoyed the pulled pork sandwiches when he use to go to FL for business. Went on a Saturday afternoon, it was empty when we arrived (1230pm) but quickly filled up. Empanadas de carne we started with were very good - loved these, however, we found out later we could've asked for a spicy sauce! Horrors! as we love spicy food. Husband had the Cubano (pork sandwich) as usual and he loved it. Juicy and tasty. I had the Picadillo (Cuban style chili) which was ok not enough spice, but the beef (which I usually don't like) was not greasy. It came with sides - white rice and black and Yuca con Mojo Boiled cassava topped in a special garlic sauce. The rice/beans were bland and the cassava had little taste - would've have preferred more garlic. The service is good, although forgetting a spicy sauce is not good. I gave this a Very Good as I know that my issue with spices may not affect other peoples' reactions. We will give it another go and try other meals. Maybe a cocktail as they looked yummy! Restaurant is cozy too - great on a cold day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VAAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabor de Cuba also viewed

 

Been to Sabor de Cuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing