We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“lots of fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harry Grove Stadium

Harry Grove Stadium
Ranked #7 of 44 things to do in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

In some ways, minor league games are more fun than the majors. The stadiums are smaller, you can get better seats easier, the food is fine, and the atmosphere more relaxed. The quality of play is much lower, but this can also make the game more interesting. LIke when the 2nd baseman dribbles an easy play and the runner is safe at 1st when you feel that your 10-year old kid could have made the play. Anyway, Grove stadium is a fun place to go on the spur of the moment for all of the above reasons. If I were the king of Grove Stadium, I'd reduce the beer prices from $8 to $6, but maybe they are trying to control consumption by making it expensive? Speaking of beer, they have standard American swill but also sell good beer made locally.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2005-travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    44
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good family fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Harry Grove Stadium is very easy to get to and parking was a breeze. All of the seats in the stadium are great. For folks with young kids they have a kids area so they can get their energy out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1122RTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALKERSVILLE
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We used to take our kids here and it was a great family outing. Seats are good, place is clean. However, prices have escalated to the point that it is no longer a cheap outing. We used to be able to go once a week. Now we may go once or twice the whole season. Ticket prices have gone up. But the food is where the greatest increase has occurred. For the price you do not get much and it makes the outing too expensive to do often for the average family in todays economy. Sad really.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank seashellmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovettsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Keys Game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Typical minor league baseball experience. Tickets were cheap, food expensive, and the game was pretty good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun day/evening out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Always a nice time - they do a great job with various audience participation activities between innings. I didn't give it an excellent because the food is MORE expensive than major league parks and not as good. They are harsh about not letting you bring anything in with you.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kldgbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry Grove Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Harry Grove Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing