We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Nice Family Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Rosa

Santa Rosa
Ranked #58 of 385 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Johns, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Nice Family Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We went to this restaurant with extended family - a group of about 12 people - because it was conveniently located for us to meet, though none of us live in Frederick.

I was very pleased with the experience. The food was excellent. (I had the whole, fried tilapia.) The service was very good. And the prices were very reasonable. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yadagoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“soso”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

average at best - my meal had no flavor - tamales boiled not in husks with bland cabbage - nice waitress

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank klepto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our go-to Mexican/Latin restaurant in Frederick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We've been to several Latin/Mexican restaurants in Frederick and Santa Rosa is our favorite. Good food, good service. I'll still keep searching for a place with the Tex/Mex food I rememeber from home in NM but until I find it here, Santa Rosa is my first choice.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SWB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
248 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Santa Rosa has been around for many years. They started out small near K-Mart on Rt 40 with really good food, personable service, and low prices. A few years ago, they moved to a larger place nearby and have managed to keep up the quality very nicely. The place is much more up-scale in appearance, but they still cook the same good food. They also have at least double the competition now, but seem to be holding their own.
You can pick anything on the menu and it will come out very well. Be sure to tell your waiter/waitress how spicy-hot you like it and they will get very close. You can also talk them into substitutes.
Get whatever you like, but don't forget the plantains. One of the first places in Frederick to offer good plantains!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2005-travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you want real Mexican and Salvadorian food this is the place to be!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great food and great service! Their papusa and tacos are amazing!! Along with their fajitas and their shrimp dishes! Chips and salsa are complimentary and quite tasty! Better than any "mexican" restaurant out there...that shall rename nameless but you know who I'm talking about. Overall this place is amazing and will always go there for great authentic food!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Rosa also viewed

 

Been to Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing