We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly knowledgeable tour guide”

Ghost Tours of Historic Frederick
Ranked #2 of 2 Tours in Frederick
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover Frederick’s past as we navigate through the labyrinth of Graves, Crypts and Monuments of Historic Mount Olivet Cemetery. A 90-minute excursion through Mount Olivet’s hallowed grounds to pay respect to some of Maryland’s most famous and noteworthy figures. Final resting place of Francis Scott Key; Maryland's first governor; Civil War heroine, Barbara Fritchie; and 700 Confederate soldiers.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Highly knowledgeable tour guide”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I went on the cemetery tour last Friday (6/7/13), and had a great time. This isn't a ghost tour, although the guide tells a few spooky tales at the end of the tour, but it's very entertaining. You learn a lot about the historical figures in the cemetery, as well as the tomb stones, and statues.

I was part of a very inquisitive bunch, and our guide was able to answer all of our questions. He really knew his stuff!

I would recommend this tour, as well as the downtown ghost tour, for visitors, and locals alike.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun evening for our family”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

First, there were no small children in our group, so I can't speak about how well they would tolerate the walking and stopping. But this was an informative and fun event. There are two guides, and each guide takes a group. By the looks of it, each guide takes a different route, so you could do this twice I think and not see the same sights. The guides are in costume, and the one we had was the man. He did a very good job of telling the history behind each stop. If you are a ghost or spirit fan, or just want to do something different one evening this is a fun thing to do.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ClearBlueDaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This ghost tour of Frederick Maryland is the best I gave ever been on and now they have added the Mt. Oliviet cemetery tour. The guides are very creative and fun so your never bored. They make the walk very exciting. The price is perfect and they sure know their history. I hope they add on many more of these walks thru the cemetery. I will be doing it again. if ever in the Frederick area during the ghost tour season be sure to include one of their walks in your visit. You won't reegret it!

Helpful?
Thank susu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level Contributor
737 reviews
361 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 405 helpful votes
“Haunted Frederick's Spooky Tales”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We took the Ghost Tour (finally) in Historic Frederick. The Civil War period costumed tour guides are knowledgeable about their subject. Ours was a petite young lady in a full hoop skirt, pinafore, snood and lantern who wove her magic ghostly tales within a pleasant walk of about 90 minutes around some of the most haunted areas in Frederick. The single most haunted place? The National Museum of Civil War History, also downtown Frederick and great in itself. Both are highly recommended!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travelkitty50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great evening with friends - and a history lesson with ghosties included”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We were looking for something fun to do for Halloween and decided on a Ghost Tour since we had never been on one before. After doing quite a bit of research, we found one close to home which had been in business long enough to actually be a real part of a community. Frederick has a lovely restored downtown area so we expected the walk to be interesting if nothing else. Before the tour we ate at Brewer's Alley (see review). We were met on the sidewalk outside Brewers Alley by a guide, with very interesting eyes, dressed in period clothing, lantern in hand, and qued up for tickets. It was the evening of our first snow here in MD and the drizzle was trying hard to turn to ice. He was fairly quick in sorting out the groups (there were at least 40 ppl in line) and we were off on our walking candlelight tour of ghostly Frederick. The stories were really cute and historically relevant. The walk was about 1.5 miles, but not a forced march by any means. We had enough stops that we got to really look at the architecture and surroundings. Our guide was very very well versed in local history and had answers for everyone's questions. He was pleasant and seemed to really have a joy for what he was doing which translated into a fun evening for us.

Even after the 'ghostly' holiday they run tours - it's a cheap and fun evening with exercise and the food was good before the tour - great evening with friends. I'd go again and take guests - definitely recommend this one.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank gennymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghost Tours of Historic Frederick also viewed

 

Been to Ghost Tours of Historic Frederick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing