We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good job” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roads and Rails Museum

Roads and Rails Museum
Ranked #8 of 44 things to do in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good job”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Really nice thing to do for kids under 10-11. Expansive train layout very imaginatively done. Not something you see everywhere.

Helpful?
Thank Bink530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    29
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
120 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A little gem in Frederick”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were so delighted to take our 8 year old for this treat. Even if you're not a railroad fan you'll have alot of fun here. Very cleverly done.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank ciaobla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Creative, Fun & Engaging for all Ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Since it opened last year my 3 year old grandson has been to Roads and Rails over 30 times and once there, never wants to leave! As a result of his experiences, he has already started with an HO gauge train of his own. A visit could last from about 30 minutes to well more than an hour. There are at least seven full trains running all the time, several others that are activated by motion detectors and about a dozen buttons activate other attractions, e.g., vans and trolleys traveling around a town, a tiny Z gauge train, a roller coaster and a volcano. Each time we go I see something new, too, in the creative layouts that are always changing and being improved. I am particularly impressed with details such as the traffic lights in the little town that are sequenced like the real thing. The guys there are always willing to answer questions about the layout, the process of model-building and about trains in general. So when you go, be sure to get one of them engaged in a conversation. Dave Burroughs, the owner, is especially willing to share his extensive international knowledge of trains, modeling and train history but all of the others will gladly stop and respond to queries of any kind. I highly recommend a visit to Roads and Rails for everyone from 2 to 92.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KenandDeeOlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Probably Ok for Kids, Not For Serious Train Enthusiasts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I agree with tropical_lover_86, this place is fine for quantity of layout and cheap laughs, but for the serious model train enthusiast I would recommend you go elsewhere.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Casey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you like model trains, you will LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We loved visiting here! The displays have tons to see. The designers definitely have a sense of humor and we loved that. The owners were super friendly and answered all our childrens' questions about the trains.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roads and Rails Museum also viewed

 

Been to Roads and Rails Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing