We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpectedly awesome!”

National Museum of Civil War Medicine
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #2 of 51 things to do in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Museum of Civil War Medicine is the premier center for the study and research of medical innovation during the American Civil War. Exhibits, programs lecture and research facilities look at innovations in science, medical logistics, medical organization, nursing, civilian medical relief and much more.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly awesome!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've lived in Frederick my whole life so I was excited to discover this gem right in my own backyard (literally!) The museum is much larger than it appears and very well managed, clean, and informative. I originally went in to purchase a gift for my father for Father's Day from their gift shop, but when the cashier heard of my intention, he gave me free tickets to the museum as a gift for my dad, how kind!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Liveforvacation86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    127
    14
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If time allows”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

good as can be for this small venue. Some displays are not very well lit. Not for young children since emphasis is on adult situation...disentary, medicine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann McClure M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Informative perspective of the Civil War”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are interested in the Civil War, Frederick County is a good place to be. We have battlefields, other historic places, and lots of literature that other battlefield states have. What we have that they don't, though, is the National Museum of Civil War Medicine. It offers a unique perspective of the war that most people don't think or know much about. It is very much worth a tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LindaFrench52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tucked away little Civil War gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

While wandering through beautiful downtown Frederick, I stumbled upon this little gem of a museum. It's located in an old funeral home and is packed with powerful displays about the difficult work of Civil Wat doctors and nurses. The bookstore is loaded with materials of local interest.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank beckym36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Interesting Civil War History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you are interested in Civil War history, you will want to stop by the National Museum of Civil War Medicine. As the name suggests, it presents a medical view of the Civil War. There are some gruesome pictures of injuries and amputations, but those are the facts. They offer discounts for students, senior citizens and a nice AAA discount as well. if you have an hour and want a new slant on Civil War history, stop buy this museum!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rustyjdcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Civil War Medicine also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Civil War Medicine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing