We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit just as great as the first” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Museum of Civil War Medicine

National Museum of Civil War Medicine
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #2 of 51 things to do in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Museum of Civil War Medicine is the premier center for the study and research of medical innovation during the American Civil War. Exhibits, programs lecture and research facilities look at innovations in science, medical logistics, medical organization, nursing, civilian medical relief and much more.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Second visit just as great as the first”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

A must see for those who are going into the medical field. I love this place. It's history and the exhibits are overwhelming. I live in the Frederick area and this is one of my favorite places to go. I didn't know when I moved here how rich in history the area is.

I have to say I can't wait for the disembodied arm exhibit. Very excited. Can't believe they dug this arm up on a farm in Sharpsburg where the battle of Antietam happened.

Can't say enough good things about the staff. They are helpful, polite and knowledgeable. Keep up the good work!

Helpful?
Thank susu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    122
    12
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Allow plenty of time for this gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Luckily you can browse, leave, and re-enter the same day. Had we realized just how much information this gem contained, we would have allowed ourselves the whole day instead of only 3 hours. They have a wealth of information concerning medical practices during the Civil War era, not only on the battlefield. The dioramas are well done, and all the information is very well presented. Thankfully, there are chairs throughout the exhibits to rest in! Do you know about women's role in Civil War medicine? The role of African-Americans? Medical schooling in the period? Come prepared to learn all about these aspects and much more. And as an added bonus, their bookstore has one of the most complete selections of Civil War books I have run across.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Savta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
812 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Learned Much About Civil War Medicine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The National Museum of Civil War Medicine provides an excellent overview of the state of the art of medicine during the 1860's. This period was a great transition in medicine since anesthesia had already been discovered but the germ theory of infection was still in the future. There are lots of interesting displays of medical instruments and dioramas of scenes from the Civil War. There is also a wonderful final exhibit describing how modern combat medicine has evolved. Don't miss the nurse's diary describing a "day of chaos". Definitely a wonderful niche museum.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, IA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lots of information, well presented”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

As a guy who is really interested in the Civil War, I wanted to see this museum while we were in Maryland. The family wasn't sure it would be very interesting, but were willing to go along. However, we all found it pretty interesting. There are a lot of actual artifacts (amputation kits, medicine bottles, stretchers, human bones, prosthetics, etc.) as well as a number of life sized displays, which give a feel for what a Civil War hospital, or other situation might look like.

The bones are from real Civil War wounds, but were collected by the army, for the purpose of better understanding how the different methods of treating wounds resulted in better, or worse, results. They are displayed in a manner where the injuries, and the treatments could be understood.

They have some activities targeted for younger people, where they explain the roles of younger soldiers, and the injuries some of them incurred in the war. They also take great pains to correct some of the myths around the Civil War, such as the belief that most of the amputations were done with no anesthesia at all.

I also enjoyed talking with one of the volunteers, who was very willing to stop what he was working on (taking some photographs and measurements), and just talk. Another person from the museum stopped by to talk with us, and showed us a minie ball, which caused so many of the wounds in the war. He wanted us to feel the weight of that ball in out hands. It definitely becomes more real when you do that.

They also have an excellent bookstore of Civil War medical books. I had no idea there were this many books on Civil War medicine. If this museum wasn't so far away, I'd definitely be going back.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank re34646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“FULL of information!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a great little museum with many hands on activites for everyone. Kids will enjoy touching things, and adults will embrace a wealth of information they can gather from the museum. I'd recommend a tour if you can get one, but there is enough information to also allow for a self-directed tour and still understanding what you are seeing. Set aside about 2 hours for this museum, and don't be shy to ask questions!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank court10482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Civil War Medicine also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of Civil War Medicine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing