We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very High Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Hearth Bakery

Stone Hearth Bakery
Ranked #2 of 7 Bakeries in Frederick
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very High Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

"It's just bread" Well,,Ok. But, for people that like quality bread, this product is rare. Frederick is lucky. Thanks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I bought the multigrain and raisin and cranberry loaves and both were wonderful. Crusty outside, moist inside. Very flavorful. Loaves are around $4,75 each which is very fair these days. Also had a beef and onion empanada and a cherry tart. These people know how to do dough!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VivoliBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
214 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“What an unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stumbled on Stone Hearth during the morning of a snow storm when nearly everything in Frederick had closed. I walked in and asked, "Why are you open?" the baker responded, "We've been here baking all night, why would we close now?" The gentleman who helped me was very friendly. I bought two delicious empanadas. I wasn't expecting such yummy empanadas in the US, let alone in Frederick. Everything in the case looked very tempting. I will definitely be going back. The bakery is near Shad Row as other reviewers have noted but it's on the periphery and very easy to miss. Don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank laviajeraliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bets bread”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Always reliable for fresh and tasty bread. Kalamata Olive is my favorite. Other baked goods are very good, but I probably wouldn't give them a 'best' rating.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AMChase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent bread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Started buying their bread at local farmers markets and then realized their shop is down the street from the coffee shop I go to every weekend. I love their rye and challah bread and my husband says their cookies are very good. Big selection of everything.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah9540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Hearth Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Stone Hearth Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing