We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fresh baked breads in Frederick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Hearth Bakery

Stone Hearth Bakery
Ranked #3 of 6 Bakeries in Frederick
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
340 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best fresh baked breads in Frederick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Several of the smaller coffee houses and restaurants get their baked goods from the Stone Hearth. I recognized their sweets being served (most satisfactory apple turnover) at a nearby, popular Shab Row eatery. Their head baker told me that they only use a sour dough starter. This surprised me because often sour dough starter can be too strong; but he keeps it subtle for the lighter, brighter dessert fare. For a quickie lunch try their made to order sandwiches - you can't get fresher than this. Parking is limited but ok. Baker, servers, sandwich makers are all smart and friendly. Take home pies and rolls remain fresh and keep well. A great experience all-round.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love theolive bread especially but they are all excellent. Also quality ingredients-no mixes or artificial stuff, delicious pastries, pies, and cakes. Everything looks good, too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SJRCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Bakery in Frederick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Largest selection of freshly baked bread, pies, cakes, cookies. Almond stuffed crossant
was delicious. Some speciality sandwiches made to order. Will definitely return to place
orders for holidays.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank waltso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“European style breads and desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

This is my favorite bakery! Their sourdough bread is unbelievable and I always get rave reviews when I serve their rolls. Over the years I've tried at least 20 different desserts and have never been disappointed. Great value too.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wide selection of breads and pastries-get your stollen now!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

The rustic wheat bread was beautiful and delicious. Also got an almond pastry that was filled with some great marzipan. I never forget a good bakery. Shab Row is the pace to park if there is none on the street close.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foodsci1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Hearth Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Stone Hearth Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing