We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Yum!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hog BBQ

Black Hog BBQ
Ranked #3 of 386 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Walkersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Some of the best BBQ I have had!! I have been to this place several times and each time it gets better and better... I especially like the special during the week. Keeps the bill lower!!
My favorites are the dry rub ribs and the beef brisket sandwich!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryanha86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    140
    44
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best BBQ ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I was not a BBQ fan until the black Hog. Love the pulled pork shoulder with Kansas City sauce. It's sweet and spicy. The sides are great too, especially the home made fries. Only one problem...if I would eat it as often as I crave it, we would need bigger doors and sturdier chairs! Most excellent BBQ.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank twozit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Some of the BBQ I've had in a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Black Hog has two great styles of BBQ (St. Louis wet and Memphis Dry rub). Both are great, but I prefer the dry rub with their own spicy BBQ sauce. Great place for friends and/or family - very comfortable dining environment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pernrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Md
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Black Hog = mmmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I first went to the original Frederick Black Hog to meet up with friends. I was so happy to find such a great, non-pretentious place with the greatest barbeque ever! And as much as I hate to see Urbana go from pastures and cornfields to grossly over-crowded suburbia, it is nice to have our very own Black Hog right around the corner. We ordered several pounds of a variety of meats for a birthday party; with that and some rolls, the party is ON. Give them a try! A word of warning, though: They are not open Sundays, which caused great disappointment once or twice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank mdnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A hog and more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

BBQ was a lost art in Frederick until Black Hog came to town. This hole in the wall joint cooks up a mean barbecue from different regions of the country. You can get North Carolina style, Kansas City style, Texas brisket, and other variations that will suit your palate. I love the sides, especially the greens with some hot sauce.

Soon to expand on the north side of town, Black Hog will be the best barbecue institution in Frederick and I highly recommend it

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Choochoo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hog BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Black Hog BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing