We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome BBQ”
Review of Black Hog BBQ

Black Hog BBQ
Ranked #3 of 405 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Best barbecue in the area by far! Order a brisket sandwich and fries and you will know what I mean. The service is always great, fast and friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevinloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    168
    48
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keedysville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very Good BBQ”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The Black Hog BBQ is a very good restaurant. A bit small, crowded, but worth the wait. The food is served hot and quickly. The service was very good. Would recommend going to the Black Hog.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We go to Frederick several times a year, and this has become our go-to place for great barbeque. It's all good -- my pulled pork, my husband's ribs, my son's chicken, plus the cornbread, cole slaw, greens, mac and cheese. Very friendly server, too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mojoWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Ive been there twice and very satisfied both times. really great Chicken and veggies. Nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckyestown
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Black Hog Urbana”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I love the BBQ and the fries. The problem I had was the waitress who served my food also took out the garbage (No Gloves) I think they need a busboy. I have one other problem with this restaurant, their fries are made with peanut oil, it is not posted on the menu. I want to point out this is the Urbana location, I think it is the same ownership.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AtoZBuckyestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Hog BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Black Hog BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing