We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Mrs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Porto

Il Porto
200 South Market Street, Frederick, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 383 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a wonderful Italian restaurant. Mr. Cruz and his staff do a splendid job with food and service. I highly recommend it.
Monongahela, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
“Mrs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

First time visit, the staff was very accommodating. The decor is lovely and the place is clean. The food was good. Portion sizes were adequate for the price.. Will definitely stop back when we ate in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    51
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Our family loves this restaurant. Food is delicious with something for everyone. Nice wine list and never fails on the specials. The Chilean sea bass is delicious! Service is impeccable. The staff is so attentive and atmosphere is so relaxing. Wish we lived closer!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great wine menu, but the chicken parmesan could be much better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I had the chicken parmesan, and wouldn't recommend it. It was just one, paper thin, piece of chicken, fried, with a little bit of sauce and cheese on it. I don't think it was with $14. I also tried my boyfriend's eggplant parmesan, and I didn't like that either, because the eggplant was crunchy and undercooked.

I've had the baked ziti there before, and that was pretty good. They also have a great wine list. My favorite is the Root 1 Carmenere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Level Contributor
305 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“SUPERIOR FOOD, SERVICE, AND WINE SELECTIONS / ALTOGETHER GLORIOUS !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Yes, the ambience is great with a clean sparkling atmosphere. Our server Carlos was a magician, appearing exactly when an items was needed; even before we were to ask for it. Water and drinks were always filled, and finished plates whisked away to clear space on the table. Their breads, baked there, are better than any of the other restaurants in Frederick. Yes, they will sell you a new wonderful loaf to take home, and we did. For appetizers, start with the sweet (not hot) red peppers floating in a subtle vinaigrette sauce, with either a topping of anchovies or a topping of your choosing - like minced green olives and minced onions. If you choose the roast chicken entree, you get a generous 1/2 chicken perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. Sausage with sweet green peppers and spaghetti is a first class treat. Spaghetti Carbonnari is a good selection for kids, but for adults too. So you don't like booze, well they have really great ice tea and your glass is never empty, Wine by the glass features Fossi Chianti at $7.50 a true value. There are a multitude of nifty white and red wines by the bottle available for your approval. A bottle of Gabbianno Chianti is always a class act. Desert; try the crème caramel, or spumoni ice cream, or frozen (very hard) Tartufo, covered with a rich dark chocolate. The host, call him "Cuppa" is always nearby to make sure everything goes to your liking - just top quality restaurant management, On street parking can be a minor problem, so when you telephone for a reservation ask about recommendations for parking; and ask about the specials for that evening - forever tasty and super fresh. Finish with a regular American coffee or a double espresso, or a Cappuccino and specify if you want them exceptionally hot - they will do. Nice clean restrooms, and the place is quite, but carefully lighted so you can actually see what you are eating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hanschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere, delicious food, amazing staff made us very comfortable and served us quickly and well. Our drinks were refilled when they reached half empty. Everyone was friendly. The food was incredible. My ten year old can be very picky at restaurants but he ate every last bite of his spaghetti with marinara sauce.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Porto also viewed

 

Been to Il Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing