We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Italian for mid part of a state” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olives

Olives
Ranked #74 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Clinton, NJ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Italian for mid part of a state”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Veal with spinach, chicken parm were tasty. Mushroom soup of the day was very good. Would have prefered thinner al dente spaghetti with sauce as the side instead of unsauced thick as served. We didn't have a reservation for 4 and they found a spot quickly for us. Do ask the price of glass of wine being recommended since it was the more expensive one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    27
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Eclectic atmosphere. You don't see many restaurants with murals everywhere. Lively bar. This is one of the places where we enjoy dining while in Frederick. This time the food was particularly good. My husband and son ordered the stuffed mushrooms to start, which they said were light and delicious. The chicken parmigiana was the best I have ever had. It was breaded but not fried and the sauce was perfect, tasting like tomato, not sugar, tender and yummy. The guys ordered veal saltimbocca and a shrimp entree with lemon balsamic, which they enjoyed. The accompanying house salad was fresh and lightly dressed. Our server was attentive, pleasant and efficient. Wine list is limited but adequate. We dine here several times a year. The food is generally better than average, but this time the food was outstanding, hence four stars, not five.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Passwordnotavailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Apathetic staff and very forgettable food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is one of those experiences that is just too interesting to not share. To begin with, it was entirely too dark in the restaurant, and we were there in the middle of a sunny day. And the decor is something that just didn't have a point. It was very sullen, dark, confusing, and haphazard.

We were seated at a table that was so uneven that it felt like it was sitting on a speed bump. So we moved to another table that was almost as bad. Finally we moved to a third table and I thought it was ok until I leaned on it and nearly knocked my glass on the floor. It's obvious that every time someone complains about the useless tables that nobody does a thing about it, causing frustration for the next patron, and so on. So I did what was convenient and used my spoon to prop up the uneven leg. I attached a picture to give you a good laugh.

The service was a bit slow and not very attentive. And while we were sitting there they played the same Elton John song 4 times in a row, at which time I mentioned something to the clueless waiter and he said he didn't even notice. So they put something else on and wouldn't you know it, it was on repeat also. Just unbelievable lack of attention to detail.

Anyway, on to the food. I ordered a panini with prosciutto and mozzarella and it was just awful. I attached a pic to show how discolored the meat was, and I can assure you the taste was much worse than the picture. The cheese was very cheap quality cheese and the whole sandwich was so soggy it gave it the texture of a soaked sponge. It was a horrible sandwich and the fries were bad, too. How do you mess up fries? Somehow they did.

My daughter got spaghetti, which was just average, and the only reason I didn't give 1 star is because of the french toast brunch my wife ordered that was pretty good. It wasn't great, but it was very good. That's the only thing that saved this from getting just 1 star.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sittings with views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I often select this restaurant to bring my visiting friends not because of the cuisine, but rather for the elegant and pleasant wall paintings that surround us while dining. The atmosphere is cozy, the servers are friendly, the views from different sitting areas are all wonderful to look at. The menu offers good Italian staples with various choices, however, all I can remember about the restaurant is the happy content each time as if I have dined in an European bistro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MirabelleL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A really great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

My friend and I were looking for a place to have appetizers before going to a wine tasting and we decided on Olives. Wow! We ordered from the happy hour menu and were very impressed with our choices. The calamari may be the best that I have ever tasted--light, crispy served with a delightful lemon sauce. I don't believe that the lettuce was arugula which would have been a nice contrast to the tender seafood. The bruschetta was generous with 6 pieces--three different tastes. Very good service and pleasant atmosphere. And the iced tea was refreshing and delicious and our glasses were kept filled. Will return here. (Would like to have complimentary olives I heard that they used to offer.)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mtswilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olives also viewed

 

Been to Olives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing