We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were impressed!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olives

Olives
Ranked #74 of 398 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
York, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We were impressed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Walking down the street we were impressed with the Sunday brunch menu posted outside. The ambiance looked inviting so we went inside. The crab Benedict's were excellent and our server was friendly and attentive. We would go back again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DickTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    27
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LeRoy, NY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stopped for lunch during an off time (after 2 PM) w/ a party of 8- We received excellent service- Many different specials and unique offerrings on the regular menu- We all had something different and everyone was pleased- Decent prices as well- Good location right in middle of Market St. shopping- Definitely recommend

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SRB13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
“Best Bartender Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We went to Olives and got great service and ice cold well made drinks from Mark, the very personable bartender. Great place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“could easily be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Olives has fun murals and nice decor. The food was good and service was average, but could easily be better.
Service: When we arrived around 11:30AM, we had the place to ourselves and got a nice table at the windows in front. Soon after a family with two young boys arrived and were seated right next to us - that seemed odd since there was the whole restaurant was empty. The family had several spats during our meal and it would have been nicer not to have a front row seat. My friend had to ask for her water to be refilled. We had to wait a while for the waitress to come around to ask for our check.
Food: I had pumpkin ravioli ($13) which was very good but would have benefited from some vegetables to add diversity. My friends panini ($8) was good, but her macaroni salad side was just OK. We were not served bread - no bread at an Italian restaurant?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GburgGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
276 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best Italian in a While”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Friends picked this restaurant, and I must say they have good taste! I had become a bit bored with the Italian options in the area. Olives has some excellent options with fresh flavors, including several delicious salads. Each person in our party enjoyed a different salad. I had the beet salad, which was full of flavors and a great way to start the meal. The pear salad also was a big hit. After the salads, we all enjoyed different entrees. I appreciated that Olive's menu has some fresh takes on classic dishes. I am always a fan of a good eggplant parmesiana, but have grown a bit tired of the dish offered by many restaurants. Olives offers a refreshing alternative in its rollatini di melanzane, which is eggplant rolls baked with spinach, cheese, and sauce. It was deliciously crispy with the right amount of cheese. I am looking forward to going back to Olives again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luvtravels33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olives also viewed

 

Been to Olives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing