We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food every time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mexicali Cantina

Mexicali Cantina
Ranked #67 of 397 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food every time.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great for a date night or drinks with friends. I've been to MC several times and have had good food and good drinks every time. It does get quite loud during their busy times and I wouldn't consider it kid-friendly (maybe for a weekend lunch but not dinner). Overall we've always been happy with our meals here. Service is average. Location has ample (free) parking and is easy to get to.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShellyKP34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Rally good margaritas, but really bad bean burritos”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

In honor of national margarita day, I went to Mexicali Cantina for some tequila goodness. I was a little disappointed that they didn't have any margarita specials on today of all days, but ordered a strawberry margarita anyhow and wasn't disappointed. I was, however, disappointed with the bean burrito I order to go with it. The refried beans were bland and soupy. Our server was nice, but she never asked us how we liked the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
“Over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Everything about this restaurant is over rated, especially the food. It is uninspired food at a gourmet price. Eat elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
332 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I've eaten at Mexicali at least 6 times and never been disappointed. The food is always good and there is plenty of choice. This is more of an "american-ized" version of Mexican, but I like it.
They have the best guacamole and chili rellenos in town.
Although nobody probably goes just for the chips and salsa, their version is very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2005-travel-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My Go To Place For Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I love Mexicali Cantina and have been dining there for years. I have never had a bad meal there. All the food is fresh and all the staff are friendly and attentive and know the meaning of the words hospitality and customer service. One of the best things about Mexicali Cantina is that they do not charge you for refills on chips and salsa like many Mexican restaurants have begun to do. And, their chips and salsa are delicious! Some of my favorites at Mexicali Cantina are the tres colores, the tacos al carbon, the talapia filet fajitas, and the beef fajitas. The sangria is delicious and refreshing and occasionally, they have a peach mojito on the specials menu which is absolutely to die for! If you want delicious Mexican food, good drinks and friendly service, give Mexicali Cantina a try. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexicali Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Mexicali Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing