We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“one of my favorites in Frederck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mexicali Cantina

Mexicali Cantina
Ranked #76 of 385 Restaurants in Frederick
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of my favorites in Frederck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I'm from and grew up in California. When I moved to the east coast I just started making my own Mexican food since there were very few good options in Frederick. Mexicali Cantina, a very comfortable place with excellent food, has given me a break from my own cooking. One of my favorite places to go!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amysadventures2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    22
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great upscale Mexican/Latin American/Peruvian food. First time I've been in a Mex. restaurant that had white cloth tablecloths. Pricy compared to Mexican restaurants but well worth it. Great drinks. Very friendly, knowledgeable, attentive staff.
If you feel like Mexican or Latin American/Peruvian when in Frederick skip the others and go here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Johnny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Food is fresh, atmosphere is festive, but not overdone. Wait staff are very professional and attentive. I like that you can dine in one of several separate rooms.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The food was really good and the joint was jumpin'. The homemade chips and salsa were great. We will definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Slartabartfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Super, low-key, great food. Mariachi music some Saturdays, plus private rooms (tiny ones...how fun!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheleInMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexicali Cantina also viewed

 

Been to Mexicali Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing