We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Birthday Brunch”
Review of Volt

Volt
Reserve with OpenTable
Volt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 402 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between 2nd and 3rd Street
Description: VOLT offers guests a menu of modern American cuisine. The focus of our cuisine is based on classic flavor combinations, creating sophisticated dishes that emphasize purity and seasonal flavors that are based on fundamental and innovative cooking techniques. VOLT's relationship with local artisan farmers ensures availability of products to fulfill the philosophy behind the menu, in a refined, historic venue where classic meets modern. By design, the restaurant follows along the original footprint of the mansions first floor parlors. Both the 38 seat main dining room and the bar/lounge open off the foyer. The original mosaic tile in the foyer was the inspiration behind the warm monochromatic color palette that adorns the finishes in VOLT. Private dining can be hosted in the conservatory offering views of the expansive courtyard. The 700 square foot kitchen afforded space to include up to 20 guests.
Montgomery County , Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING Birthday Brunch”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Mimosa's and bacon maple glazed doughnuts oh my oh my
It's a prefix deal here a little pricey but totally worth it for a special occasionand is a fun way to try new things !
I started with the ravioli with goat’s cheese, in a broth with mushrooms and some kind of flavored foam (cause who doesn’t love a foam right?!?)
Followed by an incredible caramelized onion and mushroom omelet served with exquisite home fries. Since there was a few of us eating we also ordered sides of the Belgian waffle with blueberries and crème fraîche as well as an order of maple glazed bacon doughnuts (YUM).
We each got a different dessert and while not big, I can promise you will have fun eating any of them! The innovative way this restaurant approaches your meal from the moment you walk in the door, to the AMPLE bread service with choices like bourbon pecan rolls or your choice of scone citrus or bacon and sage. All around a great experience and my favorite part you will get a small box of baked goods to take with you when you leave. I’ve been a few times now and gotten cookies and coffee cakes both an excellent reminder of a wonderful meal the next day.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HomeLifeLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    123
    88
    37
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Very Good EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The experience is hard to compare. The food might leave you hungry. When the food is placed on the table it is like a celebrity has arrived and the photo flashes explode. The service is incredible. Never before have I been walked to the bathroom when I asked where it was let alone had the door opened for me. Just have a little something to eat before you go because you only get a pretty little something there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margaritasinmexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience, Food, & Wine”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A bunch of us recently dined at Volt and I have to say that we all enjoyed it (and we're fairly finicky about our food). The drive wasn't bad, but some of the initial parts of Frederick were a bit seedy ... the street where Volt is charming, though (there is also parking right next to Volt).

Service was exceptional and well-coordinated. We were a high maintenance table with a few folks who had allergies and they accommodated everyone without reserve. There was one course that none of us enjoyed (the sweetbreads ... not because we don't care for sweetbreads, but none of us are fans of fried fried food and that's about all you tasted with that particular dish - the only real miss of the evening). When our waiter noticed that none of us finished this dish, he asked what he could do to compensate for it and we said nothing, the dish just wasn't to our liking. For the following course, he brought us a wine pairing on-the-house which was thoughtful and we all enjoyed it. Some of us opted for the wine pairing throughout the meal and we agreed that the pairings were very well executed with some notable standouts - pork belly/burgundy and fois gras/white burgundy (I think) were excellent. Get the pairing and definitely get those two dishes. Not sure why all the negative comments on desserts, but the one that we had (chocolate, peanut something) was quite good.

All-in-all, a great dining experience ... we're definitely looking forward to returning. If paying a decent amount for dinner offends you, then you'd probably want to go to one of the other nice restaurants in Frederick that may not be as expensive. However, how much you spend is on par with what you'd spend at any similar restaurant in DC.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DlNE-N-DASH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inlet, ny
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in Frederick”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The food is an experience, don't overthink it - just enjoy the creativity of the chefs. The scallop was a standout and the warm bread basket was the best service touch of the night. We will be back, Ciara was wonderful and made us feel very welcome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jessehalpern6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“exciting”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

we had lunch at volt recently (thanks to the trip advisor rating) and it was wonderful. regrettably, we were travelling so unable to relax and enjoy this place as one should. it was packed. we had no reservation and were welcomed at the bar. service, food, decor are all top notch. it's pricey as well as different so be prepared for the energy at volt!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mb300sr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volt also viewed

 

Been to Volt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing