We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but imaginative and delicious food”
Review of Volt

Volt
Reserve with OpenTable
Volt is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 400 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Between 2nd and 3rd Street
Description: VOLT offers guests a menu of modern American cuisine. The focus of our cuisine is based on classic flavor combinations, creating sophisticated dishes that emphasize purity and seasonal flavors that are based on fundamental and innovative cooking techniques. VOLT's relationship with local artisan farmers ensures availability of products to fulfill the philosophy behind the menu, in a refined, historic venue where classic meets modern. By design, the restaurant follows along the original footprint of the mansions first floor parlors. Both the 38 seat main dining room and the bar/lounge open off the foyer. The original mosaic tile in the foyer was the inspiration behind the warm monochromatic color palette that adorns the finishes in VOLT. Private dining can be hosted in the conservatory offering views of the expansive courtyard. The 700 square foot kitchen afforded space to include up to 20 guests.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Expensive, but imaginative and delicious food”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

As long as you're prepared to have a very pricey meal, you will not be displeased with the food. Brian is a great chef and is very personable. I had the black ash ravioli....AMAZING. I'd love to go back and try "Table 21" which allows you to sit in the kitchen with the chefs and have a tasting menu prepared for you, but did not have the luxury of making a reservation so far in advance (be prepared to get on the list at least a month in advance). It was a delight to have the Top Chef food experience.

Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    121
    87
    37
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great dining experience!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

being a huge fan of Top Chef, I was excited to try Volt. Everyone involved made it a wonderful dining experience....the food being the highlight.
5 Stars to Volt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burkittsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Real excellence”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The U.S. is getting a little more European in this regard: You can now find real excellence in restaurants outside big cities. Case in point: Volt, located on the main street of chef Bryan Voltaggio's home town of Frederick, MD. Chef Bryan went off to become a name in cuisine, then came back to picturesque Frederick to open a great restaurant of his own. He combines classic cooking techniques with new ones, and comes up with really luscious dishes. If you book far enough in advance, you can sample 21 of them as you watch the work in the kitchen. Even if you're not up for the 21 menu, see whether you can get a table in the chef's dining room for the tasting menu. Or, on a lower budget or more on the spur of the moment, go to the lively bar for great drinks and the bar menu. You'll be happy wherever.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All the senses are fulfilled”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Last Friday, I dined with a friend at the chef's table (not Table 21, but in the same room). We were able to watch the preparations close at hand, we were served with many hands that were well practiced and graceful, our special dietary needs were all met, the noise level (including the music) allowed for a rich conversation with my friend to proceed effortlessly, and the food delighted both the eyes and the taste. Almost every bite exploded with flavor. I left feeling totally satisfied without that unpleasant stuffed feeling. I left feeling that I had been surprised with every course (all 7 of them). I left feeling I had had an particularly fine experience. Madelyn

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Volt”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This was our first time at Volt with a group of friends, some of which had been to Volt previously. First the food: We had the 3 course Pre Fixe with offerings that were different from what is on the online menu. First courses included: ravioli; beets; blue crab; lamb which was not on any previous menu. Blue crab was nice, well sauced; the ravioli was terrific and the beets and goat cheese was left unfinished. The lamb was overly salty.

2nd course: Rockfish and Pork Belly Hash. The Rockfish was great, portion was small. The pork belly portion was large, but too rich for the size. The poached eggs were done perfect.

3rd course: Raspberry short cake - terrific; the apple cinnamon - was good, not outstanding.

Wine selection: a sparkling white; a red; and a chardonay.

Service: Good, but not great. A white wine was never offered to those having fish.

Would we go back? Yes, but we would be very careful with our selections and would insist on the correct wine with each course.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean-Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volt also viewed

 

Been to Volt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing