We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B & B”

Hill House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frederick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hill House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 6 Frederick B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were touring the Antietam Battlefield for 2 days . Staying in Frederick was a good location. We really enjoyed our stay at Hill House. It is the most attractive B&B we've ever stayed. We had the Victorian Room with its huge bath. Damain is a pleasant hostess and her French Toast is delicious. The location was very convenient for restaurants, bars and stores.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
There are newer reviews for Hill House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 41 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

Best place to stay if you are going to Volt, as it is around the corner. Convenient walking to downtown Frederick shops and restaurants. We stayed on the top floor suite, which was quiet, comfortable, charming. The breakfast was good and not overwhelming like some B&Bs. Good for a one- or two-night stay.

One key gives access to all the rooms, so trust your fellow travelers. Parking is on the street; learn the parking rules. Currently the photo associated with the B&B on TripAdvisor is wrong. I added the correct one; hopefully it will be accepted and added. Also Google maps is currently off by a quarter block or so.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThunderCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A very comfortable B & B with period furnishings, in the heart of old downtown, graciously hosted by Damian the lady of the house. The bathroom was spacious and well lit. Excellent breakfast. The bed was one of those very cushy, tall, old time canopy beds.
Note that Hill House is within crawling distance of Volt...

Room Tip: Get one of the suites...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NinthCircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We headed up to Frederick for a one-night respite from packing to move from VA to NC. We didn't want to spend a lot of money so we reserved the Chesapeake Room at Hill House both for price and location and we pretty much got what we paid for. The location is great--Frederick is a lovely and very walkable town and we parked once at the B&B, found a walking tour, and took off. The Chesapeake Room (one of four in this three-level row house) was small but adequate for a couple (though there were no chairs for sitting/reading). We did have access to a 2nd story gallery which would probably have been quite pleasant on a cool day. (We were there mid-summer and the temps were hovering around 95-100 degrees--not conducive for lounging outside.) Breakfast the next morning was a disappointment--French toast, 2 slices of dry bacon, a small dish of fresh fruit, instant orange juice (Tang), and coffee--nothing special. The house itself has some outstanding elements—a parquet floor in the dining room, a lovely parlor—but the parlor was off limits to guests. All in all, not quite what we were expecting but certainly adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Decoder_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We had trouble finding this location based on the photo of a house on a hill with a porch. In fact, it is a beige brick street level townhouse on the sidewalk with parking meters out front. The owner insisted on being paid with a check both for the deposit and for the balance of the bill~ Even though her ad says she accepts credit cards. When we arrived, before 6pm, there was no one home. There was a note taped to the inside door with our bill enclosed and directions where to locate the key. (The owner stated she was at Volt's having cocktails with friends.) We had no access to the inn per se as the door was locked since no one was home~ so we found our room up the stairs behind the other locked door. The antiques were very nice and it appeared clean, until my neck pillow rolled under the bed. It was covered with dirt and dust when I fished to out. ~ Not a good sign. We left for dinner reservations at Volt's but there was no lock to your room from the outside so it was strange to just leave our belongings in an empty strange house with several other bedrooms. It was not the B&B experience we have enjoyed in our past travels. It served the purpose of being within walking distance to Volt's.

Room Tip: This is a townhouse so the room are on the small side. Ours had acess to a side porch which made it...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank momMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

One thing for certain, you will not be disappointed by the location. In the heart of the lovely city of Frederick. The inn is small and the rooms are not to be described as spacious but they are adequate. My girlfriend and I were traveling with another couple and we all enjoyed the stay and found our rooms clean and comfortable. We had read many reviews that included mention of the innkeeper, Damian. Most of those reviews were unfavorable so we were pleasantly surprised to find her to be welcoming and helpful. Next time in Frederick, we'll be back to the Hill House.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifecycle_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here due to proximity to Volt. The Mexican room was nice to find since two beds are rare for a B&B, and the bathroom is large. Strangely, though, the room was set up for only one occupant, with one robe (which we wouldn't have worn, but still) and one small packet of soap in the shower. And the hand soap dispenser at the sink was empty. We searched & searched for soap, and found lots of other supplies, but no soap -- a strange thing to scrimp on. **All that said, there was a disturbing safety issue which another reviewer mentioned but I didn't fully take in beforehand: That the room door cannot be locked when you leave (other guests said this was the same for their doors). That means all four rooms are open to anyone who gets past the door to the street (which does lock). We checked in not long before going to dinner and hid some items deeper in the luggage, etc., and contemplated returning them to the car), but I would not want to leave my things there while exploring Frederick for the day. Breakfast was satisfactory, not incredible. Proprietor is not necessarily warm but did provide local info; however, she never mentioned the room lock issue or asked how our stay was...we had the sense that she didn't necessarily care to hear. So, very convenient, but I will choose another property for future stays.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 0632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frederick hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frederick
1.3 mi away
Best Western Historic Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Frederick
Hampton Inn Frederick
#4 of 22 in Frederick
868 reviews
1.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Frederick
WoodSpring Suites Frederick
#15 of 22 in Frederick
21 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel 6 Frederick - Fort Detrick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 12 W 3rd St, P.O. Box 4124, Frederick, MD 21701-5331
Location: United States > Maryland > Frederick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Frederick
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Hill House b&b
Hill House Hotel Frederick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing