We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it”

Firestone's Culinary Tavern
Ranked #13 of 402 Restaurants in Frederick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Church St
Description: Firestone's Culinary Tavern, opened in 1999, is located in downtown Frederick's picturesque Historic District. It is housed in a 1921 building that was initially the home of Shipley's Department Store. The restaurant combines outstanding cuisine with the casual atmosphere of a neighborhood tavern. The Washington Post says, "the atmosphere is prime...the food is, too!".
Maryland, USA
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“I like it”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This place does the farm to fork well. However, there's isn't always one of my favorites on the menu. So do check in advance. Staff can be pretentious, don't know why. My girlfriend and I dress down, but we are professionals and haughty hostess' are ridiculous. Once we arrived early, not seating for dinner yet by five minutes. Had us sit directly in front of the host stand and said they would let us know. They didn't, we had to go ask and then were told there best window seats were reserved though they sat empty for most of our meal. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and pleasant. Quite efficient. We try the new things and usually they are things we wouldn't normally order and mostly they are quite good. Desserts are unique.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kisswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    89
    32
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Heirloom tomato salad for starters, was fresh and delicious. Steak and eggs, T-Bone was cooked a nice medium-rare, egg was a little overdone. I enjoy a little yolk, but not the end of the world. My wife had blueberry stuffed french toast, which she really enjoyed. Overall, this was a really nice meal with a great atmosphere and good music.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chowzter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“pleasant enough home style cooking”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Pleasant enough, home style cooking. Attentive service.reasonably priced. The kind of place that is always consistent and reliable. Not fine dining but neither is the price. Interesting range of beers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank siralex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A delightful lunch with spectacular server recommendations”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I met an old friend her for lunch; and had not eaten here before. We were seated in the beautiful upstairs loft overlooking Market street. Our server was prompt, but not intrusive, as we had much catching up to do prior to ordering. He suggested the fried oysters, which he said were as good he had ever had when living in New Orleans. We followed his suggestion and were delighted with our meal. The best I've ever had. The only downside; they spoiled me for others. I will be back!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Manmap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok Nightime Bar Scene”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The bar scene in Fredrick is pretty expansive for such a small city. The crowd is pretty calm, the bartenders very uninterested and they don't mix great drinks, but it's all ok. The atmosphere is ok- plenty of places to sit. All in all, could be cool if the people working there would step it up. Just kinda boring,

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mzmeowsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firestone's Culinary Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Firestone's Culinary Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing