We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and wonderful location”
Review of Hotel Mendez Nunez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mendez Nunez
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Lugo
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We spent one night at the Mendez Nunez on our way to Santiago de Compestella. It is one of only two hotels inside the old Roman wall. Parking in a public lot was easy and then it was a short (5 minute) walk to the hotel which is located on a pedestrianized street that is wide, planted with trees, has benches, etc.--in fact, most of the area surrounding the hotel is pedestrian--the street, the park, the area around the cathedral, etc. The hotel is lovely; the rooms were large and attractive; ours had a balcony overlooking the pedestrian way. Breakfast was excellent--varied and abundant options. We would stay here again if we find ourselves in Lugo.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarnetMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 450 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

The Mendez Nuñez Hotel offers good location, comfortable rooms and pleasant staff. Don´t expect more. It has undergone much needed renovation in recent years. Breakfast is poor. The buffet scrambled eggs and bacon looked as if they had been there for days and I would suggest they remove them as it gives a terrible impression.( You can order eggs which they´ll prepare quickly). In a city that doesn´t offer much insofar as accommodation is concerned the Mendez Nuñez is a good choice.

Room Tip: The street can be noisy at times so rooms in the back might be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giborny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I will not classify our stay at the Mendez Nunez as terrific. It was nonetheless a good stay.

The place is comfortable and well located in the town of Lugo. The rooms are in line with the expectation you might have with a hotel of this category, well equipped, stylish enough, but not too much,...

Unfortunately the breakfast do not match the quality of the diner room.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Hotel Mendez Nunez on an overnight trip to Lugo and surrounds. The hotel is right in the heart of the old town, and the Cathedral is a three minute walk away. Also some great shopping, and restaurants. Couldn't fault the location or the hotel. Staff friendly, room large and airy and spotlessly clean.

Only downside is parking. Because the hotel is in the old quarter, you can't park in or around the hotel. You have to park in a public carpark about 10 minutes walk away. The hotel has an arrangement with a particular parking station which is €7 per night. We didn't know this and parked in a closer carpark and it was €14 for the night. Then you have to lug your luggage.

the only other negative is breakfast. It's €7 per person, lousy coffee, and you will have a better cheaper breakfast with much more atmosphere in one of the small cafes or bars two hundred meters away.

Other than that though, a terrific hotel and can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billbennettoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The hotel is really in the center of the city in the pedestrian which is great. The parking is 10 minutes walk on a public parking, but you can get in front of the hotel to unload and load your baggage. The room are good which worked for us well since we stayed only for one night.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We were surprised and delighted by the elegant minimalist decor of the rooms and the friendly welcome by the hotel staff. It is situated within the ancient walls of Lugo and within easy walking distance of all the sights. There are no dining facilities but breakfast is served on the top floor of the building with marvellous views over the city and surrounding countryside. The only drawback from a motorist's point of view is that it is on a pedestrianised street and the parking is 2 blocks away, but you can bring the car to the door to unload and load luggage.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gansonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

The hotel is in an ideal location, the staff is friendly and helpful, the parking is nearby, safe and discounted. The rooms are comortable and the streetside has balconies. I storngly recommend thois hotel

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fun64Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugo hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel Torre de Nunez
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ciudad de Lugo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Exe Puerta de San Pedro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pazo de Orban
Pazo de Orban
#3 of 15 in Lugo
144 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Santiago & SPA
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Lugo
Gran Hotel Lugo
#12 of 15 in Lugo
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mendez Nunez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mendez Nunez

Address: Calle de la Reina 1, 27001 Lugo, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Lugo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Lugo
Price Range: $60 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mendez Nunez 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mendez Nunez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing