We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but do NOT use underground car park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ciudad de Lugo
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Lugo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK but do NOT use underground car park”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Good basic two star place. Breakfast good value. Rooms reasonable size and clean. Do NOT use the underground car park. The lift is too narrow as the many scratches on the side walls show. If you want to stay here you should be able to find somewhere in the surrounding streets. It is quite difficult to find so take a good map with you but convenient for visiting the attractive old city. Most of the staff were friendly but there was one older women who avoids eye contact and was unable to give advice on how to find one of the main roads out of town even when asked in Spanish so try to find someone else if you need help! We had no problem here with the now all to common effort in Spain of trying to cheat you by charging in £s at some extortionate exchange rate. Finally if you want to dry your hair they have the best hair dryers in the region!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    63
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
49
47
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
499 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for three nights as part of our recent trip. It was the easiest to find without a good map, but it's about 10 minutes walk away from the bus station once you know where you are. We arrived by bus, so can't comment on the driving directions. It is very close to the walls though, so although it's slight walk uphill, you're very close to where you want to be.

The apartment was fine, with a good sized living room/kitchen, shower room and decent sized bedroom. There were two TVs, both of which only seemed to show Spanish language channels. The kitchen was reasonably well-appointed, but has a cooker, fridge-freezer and some crockery/cutlery. There is a supermarket nearby, just outside the city walls at the Porta de San Pedro, the closet gate to the hotel and your main access to the old town.

The bedroom had a safe and there was aircon throughout, very handy for the weather. We also had the breakfast, which was really good. Plenty of pastries, croissants, fresh orange juice and coffee. It's included in the price, so seems like a really good deal all things considered.

However, the reason we marked this down was because of the mistakes over our bill. We were asked if we wanted to be charged in Euros or Sterling. We said Euros because we want to avoid the 3% loading when paying in sterling. We said this very clearly. Really clearly. So we were rather hacked off to discover that they'd charged us in sterling, adding an unexpected amount to the bill. It's not a lot, but that's not the point. We were doing this when we were dashing to catch a bus, so didn't notice until we were on the bus, too late to do anything about it. So, despite the good location, accommodation and breakfast, we're not impressed by their service when it mattered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madamedefarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

A group of eight of stayed in the apartments for our son's recent wedding. We found them to be ideal for our stay and the staff were extremely helpful towards in making our stay very comfortable. We will have no hesitation in returning and are happy to recommend the partmentments to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night on tour of Northern Spain.

The apartment style hotel itself is well placed a short walk from the Cathedral and surrounding Roman walled old town with it’s many restaurants.
The room was very spacious with asepatate sitting room and mini kitchen (for those who want to self cater). It was also very quiet overlooking the surrounding residential area.
Breakfast was served in the in-house coffee shop/bar and had a very good choice. It was excellent and the quality good.
The hotel has an on site hotel garage (accessed by a car lift!) and this was a major factor in making our choice, although it is at a small extra cost.

At the price point, this hotel offers excellent accommodation and is to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
848 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 705 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

An apartment hotel well furnished clean, well maintained with covered parking.

This was not so easy to locate by car at once because of the one way passage. We left the car and look for this hotel on foot first. If one is new to the region, better take the phone number to be guided how we can find the place. Happy to find a courteous and accommodating staff at the reception.

We did not expect the comfort we experienced with separate bedrooms and a kitchen if one likes to prepare their food. Spacious living room, dining and kitchen with refrigerator. Well equipped. We had a sumptuous breakfast. We love it. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MijnlieverdFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Exe Puerta de San Pedro
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mendez Nunez
Hotel Mendez Nunez
#3 of 15 in Lugo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Torre de Nunez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.7 mi away
Hotel Rustico Vila Do Val
2.6 mi away
Hotel Santiago & SPA
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Lugo
Gran Hotel Lugo
#13 of 15 in Lugo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciudad de Lugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciudad de Lugo

Property: Hotel Ciudad de Lugo
Address: Carril Hortas 29, 27002 Lugo, Spain (Formerly Husa Hotel Aparthotel Ciudad de Lugo)
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Lugo > Lugo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Lugo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ciudad de Lugo 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ciudad de Lugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing