We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hospederia Convento de la Parra
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Parra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

beautiful decoration, very nice patios, living room and pool
restaurant is good and resonably priced
breakfast with a good choice of natural food
attentive service
small rooms, with not much light but confortable

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 86 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a kind of gem you cannot afford to lose while in Spain. Is located in Extremadura, Badajoz province, a 100 km of the spain portuguese border. It is housed in an ancient monastery. All the rooms are very simple but at the same time very comfortable. All in pure white with windows opening to the little patio where a fountain gives you the sound and freshness of water falling while around you the hit of summer makes you wish a shade cloister or a swimming pool, both to be found in this charming hospederia. At night you can have dinner in the patio. Looking up the immense sky full of stars and if you are lucky the moonlight will give the night a magic touch.

If you are travelling with children,ask for the suite facing the pool (just a little and tiny but most beautiful window). Everything is done with an original touch. Great decor. Don't expect great tv screens, mobiles everywhere, wi-fi and some other moderns commodities. No you are there for the peace the place shades over you, and for the beauty of the landscape and for the silence.

A true and unique experience waits you at La Parra. Don't miss it.

Close by visit Feria at sunset. From the castle half of Spain lies before your eyes.

Room Tip: Not a room. Don't miss the stork nest on the clock tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This beautifully converted convent is worth going out of your way for. The rooms are converted cells so have real character. They are small, low, with small windows to keep the room cool - simply done, but with all that you need. (No TV or aircon). The bathroom is fairly basic, but like everywhere else on this property, very clean. The first floor verandah around the courtyard has day beds placed at strategic intervals, adding to the overall sense of rest and relaxation.

The pool area is all white, so very pleasing to the eye, with an attractive water feature. Rather than loungers, there are mattresses, which may not sound very appealing, but actually works very well.

Service is discreet, but friendly. Food is not fussy, but is certainly tasty. We really enjoyed eating in the courtyard, but the contemporary dining room is also very appealing.

Our only regret was booking only one night. We won't make that mistake next time!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just spent five idyllic and restful days at the Convent. It was just the sort of place we love- beautifully restored and refurbished, but not glamorous, and still kept simple, retaining the ambience of a convent. The fresh cut flowers, and the setting and the small pool were gorgeous.Staff were friendly, but discreet, and let us be peaceful. There were so many curious and delightful corners to explore in the hotel. Breakfast was splendid; the evening meal tasty and sufficient. We highly recommend to those wanting something really relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilbert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

After 10 days of travelling with kids, having drinks and sightseeings 24/7, I couldn't stand another church, castle or crying baby. It was not easy to find a comfortable place that offers just peace & quiet, but there it was: Convento de la Parra!

Wonderful zen atmosphere, friendly staff, good cooking & wines (though a bit pricy), cosy corners both inside and outside of the building and a small, simple pool area. Have a walk in the village and you'll meet people riding their kids on a donkey and friendly greeting you. The area is supposed to be a great hiker's paradise.

For cultural sightseeing or the occasional dinner or lunch outside the convento, I would recommend a stay with a car, so daytrips can be taken to villages on driving distance, as La Parra itself only has 1 bar/restaurant of lower quality.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissKipperella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

For a hotel to be truly peaceful it needs to work properly. As noted elsewhere, table service often leaves a lot to be desired, but once the order has been taken the food is excellent. Breakfast, however, can be a far more frustrating experience. So long as the buffet is laid out (on time, please, guys) all is well, but one morning the room was deserted long after breakfast was scheduled to begin, so we went back to our room and tried again later. We were then asked to select what we wanted from the breakfast menu, without (in truth) any real choice - for example I wanted cereal and got corn flakes or something very similar, which is not what I would have chosen had I known what the other options were. This may seem like a small gripe (and given my overall rating you'd be right) but breakfast sets the day up and if you are short of time or trying to de-stress the hotel can begin to "get" to you, which is of course the last thing that it is trying to do.... Now the positives; ignoring my comments above there is something about this place which is truly wonderful. It has a calm environment. It presents beautifully. The courtyard, particularly at night, is a wonderful place to sit and relax. The staff are very pleasant. Enjoy, but be warned!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giddsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I have just returned from the Convento de la Parra and it was just perfect! This is the ideal place to relax ... Forget the breakfast and dinner from 7, mobile phones in public spaces (are not welcome), television in the rooms... The time here has another dimension. It is the ideal place to escape the stress and routine, not a place of passage and is not a place to stay while visiting other places in Spain. This is a sanctuary that deserves to be explored on every corner. I didn't get out of there in two days, and if I could I had stayed there longer. The food is wonderful, the space is spectacular and the staff very friendly and helpful. Not suitable for families with children, because silence is one of the characteristics that contribute to relaxation. I cherish every moment I spent there and hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marygolld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Parra
13.1 mi away
Parador de Zafra
Parador de Zafra
#1 of 8 in Zafra
804 reviews
13.0 mi away
Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte
18.2 mi away
Hacienda Arroyo La Plata
Hacienda Arroyo La Plata
#1 of 3 in Jerez de los Caballeros
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones de Zafra
13.1 mi away
Hotel Huerta Honda
Hotel Huerta Honda
#5 of 8 in Zafra
150 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hotel El Raposo Balneario
Hotel El Raposo Balneario
#1 of 1 in El Raposo
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia Convento de la Parra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia Convento de la Parra

Address: Calle Santa Maria 16 | La Parra, 06176 La Parra, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > La Parra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Parra
Price Range: $121 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hospederia Convento de la Parra 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hospederia Convento de la Parra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing