We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful old Palacio” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Zafra
Certificate of Excellence
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful old Palacio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is unique and each room individually themed. The Palacio was sympathetically restored in 2005. Bedrooms and bathrooms are large and well heated, the bedding particularly good. The staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was poor, especially as located in Extremadura, where Iberico ham is famous. However the fresh orange juice and coffee were good. It would be good to visit this hotel in warmer weather as the patio and garden looked lovely. In the evening we ate in the restaurant of the Hotel Plaza Grande and had the most delicious and beautifully presented meal. (see separate review)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    54
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
34
85
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

The location is on a narrow cobbled road in the old town which was all very quiet in late November. We had a minor difficulty getting there because although the sat nav found the road it was one way and I had to dive into the maze of narrow roads and eventually ask for directions.
The staff were all very helpful. The bedroom , bathroom and dressing room ( room 201 ) was spacious and the bed comfortable.
The downside of our trip was the food. We were there on a Sunday evening when the only restaurants open seemed to be tapas bars. WE were recommended to go to the cafe at the sister hotel, Huerta Honda. I ordered salmon which was truly dreadful ( dry and probably old) . My wife had beef which was tasty but very small with no veg and not cheap at 18 euros.

Then the next morning we were very disappointed with the breakfast. Previous reviews recommend the breakfast but it was a sad offering; nice fresh orange juice, fairly mediocre bread, pressed reconstituted ham ( a bit like spam) and some nice jams with coffee. We complained and the charming staff member went to the sister hotel and brought at our request a boiled egg for my wife ( because as a diabetic she needs protein) and as a bonus real iberico ham. I know they only claim to offer a continental breakfast but this was way below the standard we usually get in Spain.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank foxdown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We've stayed several times in Zafra, which we've used as a central location for touring the Extremadura. This Hotel added an interesting dimension to our experience of the area. Located in an old building previously owned by a wealthy bullfighting family, it offers a dozen or so rooms each with a unique character and charm, but with a pleasantly luxurious feel.

The hotel is located within meters of the Ayuntamiento, and whilst it has no onsite parking we found no difficulties in locating the hotel and finding on street parking.

The greeting at reception and the reception staffs attitude and helpfulness added enormously to the pleasure of our stay. Their guidance to places in the area and their knowledge were a joy for us.

We'll be back, it's our firm favourite in Zafra.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte in August - and only wish we had time to spend another few nights. The hotel is absolutely lovely - and our room, on the ground floor, was simply beautiful. Fantastic, huge bathroom with lovely toiletries. The hotel is perfectly located for the town centre of Zafra and everything is within walking distance. The garden is delightful with a lovely little swimming pool. The service was impeccable and the staff exceptionally helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We found an outstanding restaurant within walking distance, La Rebotica and we dined there on both nights as we were truly blown away by both the food and service. Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte is excellent value for money - and far more personal and intimate than the larger hotels and paradors. Breakfast was lovely too! Will definitely stay there again next time we visit Extremadura.

Room Tip: Ground and first floor rooms have lovely high ceilings but all the rooms we saw were beautifully dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Willow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

What a treat to have selected this hotel. Quiet residential location. Being off season, we were given a huge room with a huge bathroom. Breakfast was a delight. Parking was a bit of a chore but can be done at the sister hotel (with an unusual token and parking meter solution for 4 euros). Loading and unloading the car at the hotel can be an adventure as the street is narrow, and the traffic can't pass (though the traffic is minimal). Tip: go to the evening mass at the small church on the same plaza to see a beautiful interior.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brucedodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stop here for only 1 night. Zafra is a small town and it was a lovely surprise. This hotel was a great choice. Beautiful andaluzian house, spacious rooms, great terrace in the top with great views to the city and churches towers, and a swimming pool in a lovely and fresh garden.
Friendly staff with good recomendations to what to see and where to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Plimpimpim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in this beautiful hotel. Interesting restoration of a matador's house. Lovely lounge on first floor. Nice garden and small pool in the garden. Air con struggled in 42oC !!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are spacious and very nicely decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zafra hotels
0.2 mi away
Parador de Zafra
Parador de Zafra
#1 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Huerta Honda
Hotel Huerta Honda
#4 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.7 mi away
Las Atalayas
Las Atalayas
#6 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Balcones de Zafra
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cervantes S.L.
Hotel Cervantes S.L.
#5 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Las Eras
Hotel Las Eras
#8 of 8 in Zafra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte

Property: Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte
Address: Pilar Redondo 2, 06300 Zafra, Spain
Location: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Badajoz > Zafra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Zafra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Palacio Conde de la Corte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing