We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good deal for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of California Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
California Inn
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Barstow
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South Carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good deal for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The California Inn is older, but in good condition and clean, pretty standard in furnishings and arrangement. With three people using one bathroom, it was nice having two sinks - one in the room and one in the bathroom. Room had a micro/fridge and the standard breakfast was included. The A/C was turned off when we checked in. It was a really hot day and even when we turned it on high, the room did not cool off until the middle of the night (That, plus the lights, see below, was why I rated Sleep Quality poor). We would have liked to cool off in the pool, and the pool area was very nice, but the pool itself was dirty. And what's with the motion sensor lights in California? Not just here but everywhere we stayed. We would be reading or soaking in the tub and all of the lights would go out. Or if one of us got up in the night, suddenly every light in the room would come on. What a pain!

Room Tip: Call ahead and have them turn on the A/C several hours before you get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingfromDixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    351
    136
    41
    31
See reviews for
244
326
68
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I've stayed here on a previous trip from az to cali and was not disappointed. The rooms are very large and many have upgrades. All have a microwave and a fair size fridge. The rooms facing the pool are lovely and have a slider door to the inside courtyard area facing the mountains. Very nicely landscaped too. This family owned and operated hotel is definitely the place to stay if traveling this way. No street noise. Excellent customer service and a full hot breakfast with country gravy- yum! Can't beat the price of less than $50 per night and they let you have your dogs too.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while on our way back to vegas and we're a little nervous when we pulled up but they had great reviews. The lady at check in was very pleasant and helpful. The room was nice and the air conditioning was COLD! (THIS IS A GOOD THING) The pool was great and they offered towels at the pool. I really liked that the entrances where locked at all times. There are places to eat and shop nearby. The Tanger Outlet is 10 minutes away. Overall we were very pleased and would highly recommend the California Inn.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muiderberg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel was a pleasant suprise. As it was not expensive we had prepared ourselves for a much lower standard then we got. The room was clean and pscious and spacious and of very good quality and the breakfast if great! The hotel was easy to find and had enough parking space In the surroundings are many good restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank supermom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Perfect situated hotel just outside LA. Just a day trip to Grand Canyon or Las Vegas. Route 66 is also close by. The breakfast was delicious and the hotel is close to a very nice Mexican restaurant. Didn't try the pool but it looked really nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leif H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This was my second time staying there in the last 12 months. Room was fine we only stayed overnight. Breakfast was worse than last year, no hot option, and the waffles weren't great, it was much much better last time I stayed. I would stay again as for the price including free wifi and breakfast for an overnight stay it was fine.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was a very nice hotel! It was better than I had expected it to be. It was very clean, close to shopping and the staff were all very friendly & helpful. We needed trip supplies and there was a Wal Mart close by which was very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barstow hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Barstow
Rodeway Inn Barstow
#4 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Barstow
Comfort Suites Barstow
#1 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Barstow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Barstow
Travelodge Barstow
#9 of 29 in Barstow
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ayres Hotel Barstow
Ayres Hotel Barstow
#3 of 29 in Barstow
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn On Historic Route 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Inn

Property: California Inn
Address: 1431 E Main St, Barstow, CA 92311-3216 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Barstow
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Barstow
#5 Family Hotel in Barstow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barstow
#7 Business Hotel in Barstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — California Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your California Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Barstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing